BURLINGTON, VT – The Vermont Motorsports Magazine website (www.vtmotormag.com) has announced the nominations for its second annual “Driver of the Year” awards. The fan-voted awards will recognize stock car drivers from Vermont or racing in Vermont for their efforts during the 2010 season across ten categories.

A diverse group of sixty-two drivers from asphalt, dirt, full-fender, and open-wheel disciplines make up the ballot.

Competitors are nominated for selection for “Driver of the Year” awards in the Open Wheel, Late Model/Limited/Sportsman, and Four Cylinder categories, as well as categories for Touring Series drivers and those competing at Vermont’s three weekly race tracks: Bear Ridge Speedway in Bradford, Devil’s Bowl Speedway in West Haven, and Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl in Barre. There are also nominations for Breakout Driver of the Year and Youth Driver of the Year.

Nine racers have been named to the overall Vermont Motorsports Magazine 2010 Stock Car Driver of the Year ballot. On the list are Canaan (N.H.) Dirt Speedway Modified champion and rookie of the year Dan Eastman of Thetford Center; American-Canadian Tour champion Brian Hoar of Williston; Devil’s Bowl Speedway Sportsman Modified champion Don Miller of Wells; Bear Ridge Speedway Sportsman Modified champion Adam Pierson of Fairlee; Tri-Track Modified Series champion Don Scarborough of Brandon; Josh Sunn of White River Junction, winner of 31 four-cylinder feature events in 2010; Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl Late Model champion Nick Sweet of Barre; Devil’s Bowl Speedway Modified champion Kenny Tremont, Jr., of West Sand Lake, N.Y.; and Twin State (N.H.) Speedway Super Street champion Chris Wilk of Mendon.

Bear Ridge Speedway driver Tom Placey was voted the 2009 VMM Driver of the Year.

“Vermont Motorsports Magazine has had two philosophies from the beginning –give local racers the recognition they deserve, and keep the fans involved in the sport we all love,” said VMM Editor Justin St. Louis. “The 2009 Driver of the Year vote was a great success, and we’re hoping for an even bigger fan turnout this time around. The nominated drivers represent the best stock car racing talent this region has to offer and we want our readers to take part in honoring them.”

The Vermont Motorsports Magazine 2010 Driver of the Year Awards voting ballot will be open for two weeks, Friday, January 7 through Friday, January 21. Winners will be announced on Friday, January 28. To vote, or for more information, visit www.vtmotormag.com.