Joey Polewarczyk, Jr. Takes Goodyear Speedweeks Cup Win on ACT’s First Night at New Smyrna Speedway

New Smyrna, FL – Hudson, New Hampshire’s Joey Polewarczyk, Jr. continued his hot streak on the American-Canadian Tour (ACT) with a win in Sunday’s Goodyear Speedweeks Cup feature at New Smyrna Speedway in New Smyrna, Florida. Polewarczyk had to hold off St-Denis, Quebec’s Patrick Laperle for the win.

After starting on the outside pole, Polewarczyk quickly jumped out to a large lead, while Laperle worked his way through the field from his ninth place starting position. A caution on lap 34 gave Laperle his first shot at Polewarczyk. The two battle for the lead before another caution came out on lap 41 for a hard hit into the front stretch wall by East Montpelier, Vermont’s Joey Laquerre.

Polewarczyk gained the advantage in the outside lane on the restart to claim the lead. The two would swap it again before Polewarczyk took over for good on lap 60. Laperle would get to the rear bumper of Polewarczyk several times as they worked their way through lap traffic in the final 40 laps.

Polewarczyk and Laperle were followed by Quebec’s Alex Labbe coming all the way from the 14th starting position. New Hampshire’s Wayne Helliwell, Jr. and New York’s Mark Lamberton completed the top five. Seven-time ACT Late Model Tour Champion Brian Hoar of Williston, Vermont took sixth followed by Massachusett’s Eddie MacDonald, Quebec’s Karl Allard, Ontario’s Jonathan Urlin and two-time Série Castrol Edge Champion Donald Theetge of Quebec completed the top ten.

Polewarczyk begins the 2011 year much like he left off in 2010. The 21 year old claimed three ACT Late Model Tour wins in 2010 along with the second ACT Invitational at New Hampshire Motor Speedway in Loudon, New Hampshire and the 48th Annual Milk Bowl at Thunder Road in Barre, Vermont, all with the new Ford powerplant.

The first of two ACT Goodyear Speedweeks Cup 100 lap events was completed in just over 50 minutes with just three cautions. There were four lead changes among two drivers. Twenty-seven of the twenty-eight cars that made the trip to the sunshine state took the green flag in the feature as Eric Chase had to scratch due to a wheel bearing.

Tomorrow’s (Monday, February 14) ACT Goodyear Speedweeks Cup 100 event will be lined up with an inversion of the top 20 from tonight’s finishing order. The overall Goodyear Speedweeks Cup winner will be decided by the overall lowest score based on the finish of the two 100 lappers. Post time for Monday’s event is 7:30. Listen to Dave Moody call the action on

Unofficial Results
ACT Goodyear Speedweeks Cup Night #1
New Smyrna Speedway, New Smyrna, Florida
Sunday, February 13, 2011
Pos Start Pos Car # Driver Laps
1 2 97NH Joey Polewarczyk, Jr. 100
2 9 91QC Patrick Laperle 100
3 14 36QC Alex Labbe 100
4 16 27NH Wayne Helliwell, Jr. 100
5 1 16NY Mark Lamberton 100
6 7 37VT Brian Hoar 100
7 3 17MA Eddie MacDonald 100
8 11 48QC Karl Allard 100
9 22 4ON Jonathan Urlin 100
10 19 80QC Donald Theetge 100
11 4 57VT Austin Theriault 100
12 5 16QC Kevin Roberge 100
13 13 22NY Mike Bruno 100
14 12 21MA Pete Yetman 99
15 17 51QC Patrick Hamel 99
16 6 17RI Ray Parent 99
17 24 9QC Yvon Bedard 99
18 20 31ON Spencer MacPherson 99
19 15 29NH Aaron Fellows 98
20 27 92VT Blair Bessett 98
21 26 41FL Pete Potvin, III 98
22 21 88MA Kyle DeSouza 98
23 25 17ON Justin Holtom 86
24 28 88ON Tim Dorning 85
25 18 77MA James Linardy 57
26 10 15VT Joey Laquerre 41
27 23 72VT Jacob McGrath 22
DNS 8 40VT Eric Chase