Waterbury, VT – Everybody likes opening days in any sport. The American Canadian Tour (ACT) Late Model teams are no different. It doesn’t matter if you are running for points or not, new teams and veteran teams all look forward to opening a new race season.

The list of entrants for the ACT opening event at the Lee USA Speedway New Hampshire Governor’s Cup 150 is long and impressive. Upwards of fifteen new teams will experience their first opening day race with ACT in 2011. The returning corps of veteran championship teams is deep and come from a diverse section of northern weekly and touring facilities.

“Things have certainly changed since we all started this Late Model thing back in the mid-nineties. It was really an off-shoot of Thunder Road and Airborne teams with an occasional ‘outsider’ joining us in the beginning,” said 7-time ACT Champion Brian Hoar from Williston, VT. “Today, we have teams from nearly every state in New England and a couple provinces of Canada, many of whom have won various championships in their careers. What is really neat is the quality of the new teams that seem to join us each year. Seeing so many new faces at this past February’s New Smyrna Speedway races was an indication that there is a lot of interest in ACT Late Model racing. It is an exciting thing to be a part of,” concluded Hoar.

Sunday, April 17, 2011 will have the following past tour, series and track champions bidding for a starting spot in the opening event of 2011:

Jamie Fisher Shelburne, VT Thunder Road Champion
Wayne Helliwell, JR Dover, NH Lee USA Champion
Jean Paul Cyr Milton, VT ACT 7x Champion
Brian Hoar Williston, VT ACT 7x Champion
Donald Theetge Quebec City, QC Serie ACT Castrol Champion
Ricky Rolfe Albany Twnshp, ME Oxford Plains LM and Pro Stock Champion
Brent Dragon Milton, VT Airborne Champion
Quinny Welch Lancaster, NH White Mountain Champion
JR Baril Haverhill, MA Lee USA Champion
Mark Lamberton Moors Forks, NY Airborne Champion

The list of top contenders to grab the checkers on opening day gets even more impressive when you add in Joey Polewarczyk, Jr. (Pole), Hudson, NH; John Donahue, Graniteville, VT; Glen Luce, Turner, ME; Randy Potter, Groveton, NH; and Joey Laquerre from Barre, VT.

Over forty (40) teams are expected to attempt to qualify for the annual lid-lifter for the American Canadian Tour at the Lee USA Speedway on Sunday, April 17, 2011. In the eight previous events held at Lee, there have been no repeat winners. Miles Chipman who raced Lee on a regular basis in 2010 is the defending champion of the New Hampshire Governor’s Cup event.

The hottest driver in ACT competition, Joey Pole (2008 winner) said, “I really want to be the first repeat winner and keep my momentum up from the end of last year.” [Pole won the New Hampshire ACT Invitational, the People’s Bank Milk Bowl, the finale at Waterford Speedbowl last October, and the Goodyear Cup at the New Smyrna Speedway during Speedweeks at Daytona this past February.]

“When Miles (Chipman) won last year it really sent a message that weekly guys from all the tracks we visit have become very competitive against those of us that only get to race at tracks once or twice a year. Also, this year there are a lot of very good new teams that have joined the tour. Once they get used to tour-type racing, the competition is going to get tougher and tougher. A win at Lee will really help our team get focused on our primary goal which is to win the ACT title this year. It would be a dream come true to beat guys like Brian (Hoar) and Jean (Cyr), but really there should be at least six or eight teams that will be in the hunt for the championship this year. I can’t wait to get started and I know how important an opening day win can be toward our goal of winning the ACT title,” concluded Pole.

The opening of the 2011 season will take place on Sunday, April 17, 2011 at the Lee USA Speedway in Lee, NH. Gates open at 10:00pm and post time is scheduled for 1:00.

For additional information contact the ACT office at 802.244.6963, www.acttour.com, or media@acttour.com.