Young Racer Uses Patience to Take Win at Dillon Motor Speedway

Dillon SC (4/2) The second race in the 2011 season for the Pro All Stars Series (PASS) South presented by JE Pistons and Roush Yates Performance Products took place on Saturday, April 2nd at Dillon Motor Speedway (SC). The South Carolina Clash 150 was delayed by one week due to weather, but with no precipitation in the area, Ryan Blaney drove his way to victory lane at Dillon for the second year in a row.

21 of the 24 Super Late Model racers on hand answered the call for time trials. Heath Hindman looked like he was on his way to his first pole position of the year when he turned a 15.622-second lap but Jay Fogleman ripped off a 15.620, earning the pole position for the South Carolina Clash.

“We had to change some springs and stuff from our North Wilkesboro set-up,” said Fogleman. “We changed four springs, two shocks and a set of stickers (tires) to qualify and it was a whole lot better.”

After the redraw Jimmy Weller took the green flag from the first position with Bradley McCaskill alongside. McCaskill got the jump, taking the early lead with Weller dropping into second. With the field scrambling for positions behind, the first yellow flag flew at lap four for a single-car spin in turn one by Joe Heigl.

On the restart the front row flip-flopped from the initial start and McCaskill was still able to hold the lead, but Hindman moved to the second with Justin Wakefield driving up into third. Weller settled into the fourth position with Preston Peltier fifth. On lap 20, after pressuring McCaskill for several laps, Hindman moved his way into the top spot.

Yellow-flag fever took over as the following 50 laps saw the field slowed multiple times for spins. Andy Loden saw his day end up in the inside of the turn four wall on lap 38, and a multi-car incident occurred on lap 51 that included Preston Peltier, Jimmy Weller, Dana White, Jody Lavender, Steve Legendre and Jimmy Doyle. In-between cautions the lead changed multiple times with Hindman, McCaskill, and Wakefield all taking turns on the point.

After a yellow flag at lap 112 for a spin by Lavender Hindman and McCaskill, who restarted in the first two positions, made contact in turn one. Hindman continued on the leader but McCaskill dropped several positions in the mix. A few laps later, Blaney began to show his muscle, moving into second position and looking to run down Hindman. Blaney took the lead on lap 130 and drove away until a caution with four laps remaining set up a late dash to the checkered flag. Blaney, who saved his tires until it was “go time,” easily navigated his way around the track to take the win.

“We had a game plan going into this thing,” said Blaney. “I made a driving mistake last race going to early and ended up being a sitting duck. We thought long and hard about this the last couple weeks.

“It is great racing with Jay, Preston, Andy and everyone in the PASS Series. I hate it that so many cars got torn up right before North Wilkesboro. I just want to thank everybody for making this thing possible.”

Peltier battled hard with Fogleman over the final few laps, crossing the line in second.

“I wasn’t clear there once on the front stretch and came up (on Fogleman),” explained Peltier. “My spotter said ‘clear’ and he got back in there real quick. I tried to get down as quick as I could so we didn’t tear up any cars.”

Peltier congratulated Blaney for the win, but also for the way he raced conservative during the race.

“Over the last year or so I have been racing that way and they are catching on. It is making it a lot more difficult for me.”

Fogleman was second on the final restart, but crossed the line in third.

“We had a flat early on,” said Fogleman. “Not to take anything away from those guys (Blaney and Peltier); they ran a great race. My guys worked hard today and we are glad to put on a good show for the fans.”

Hindman and Wakefield rounded out the top five.

The PASS South presented by JE Pistons and Roush Yates Performance Products will be back in action at North Wilkesboro Speedway (NC) April 7th – 9th for the 300-lap “The Race” event, with $75,000 on the line for the driver who can cross the checkered flag first.

For more information on the Pro All Stars Series, go to

Unofficial Results: PASS South presented by JE Pistons and Roush Yates Performance Products “South Carolina Clash” – Dillon (SC) Motor Speedway – April 2 2011

1 10 Ryan Blaney (150) 2 26 Preston Peltier (150) 3 4 Jay Fogleman (150) 4 91 Heath Hindman 150 5 98 Justin Wakefield (150) 6 18 Bradley McCaskill (150) 7 33 Roger Lee Newton (150) 8 00 Grant Davidson (150) 9 48 John Batten (150) 10 60 R.A. Brown (150) 11 05 Alex Fleming (150) 12 20 Steven Legendre (149) 13 2 Gray Gaulding (149) 14 23 Jimmy Weller (149) 15 115 Jody Lavender (146) 16 7 Dana White (57) 17 71 Jimmy Doyle (51) 18 14 Clete Caywood (40) 19 29 Andy Loden (37) 20 15h Joe Heigl (24) 21 12 Mark Reedy (22)