Unity, Maine — Jeff Burgess of Fairfield said before the season started that he was aiming to win more races, and he got an excellent start at fulfilling that goal with a 111-lap Late Model score to top the opening day racing card at Unity Raceway on Sunday.

Starting from the pole position, Burgess gave up the top spot on a couple of occasions, but when the checkered flag waved and the $1,111 winner’s check was presented the full-time race car fabricator was celebrating in victory lane.

The first racer to take the pacesetting position away from Burgess was teenager Dylan Turner from Freedom, but apparent mechanical difficulties found him slipping back in the running order for awhile before a spin off of turn one ended his race early.

With just 13 laps to go Joey Doyon of Winterport prevailed on a restart, but Burgess put the hammer down, found room enough to reclaim the lead with less than four laps to go and sprinted to the checkered flag ahead of all rivals.

David Folsom I of Skowhegan, a contender through the long-distance main event, also made a late move past Doyon to earn runner-up honors. Doyon settled for a third-place finish, with Justin Drake of Dover-Foxcroft and Ajay Picard of Palmyra fourth and fifth in the final rundown. Steve Rackliff, Will Collins, David Folsom II, Willy Pelotte and Brian Whitney rounded out the top ten.

The younger Folsom, also known as ‘Deuce’ at the Rcaeway, won a special 15-lap race for non-feature winners, and one of the two heat races, along with Burgess. ‘Deuce’ was racing on the afternoon following his wedding day, capping off a whale of a weekend.

Nate Weston was an easy winner in the 20-lap Racin’ Paper Super Street feature event. Orrington’s Kris Huff claimed runner-up laurels, in front of Dresden’s Allan Moeller and Craig Smith of East Waterboro.

After wrecking in his heat race, Montville’s Bryan Robbins drove from the back of the pack into victory lane in the 25-lap main event for Keystone Automotive Wildcat division competitors. Chelsea’s Mo Young looked like a winner early on, but he couldn’t hold back Robbins and was forced to settle for second place. Defending Wildcat champion Chris King of Burnham raced hard to earn a third-place finish. Vassalboro’s Ed Sleeper was fourth under the checkered flag, followed by Ed Gilblair of Skowhegan, who had claimed victory in the heat race.

Lance Chapman of Benton moved up to the Uncle Henry’s Late Model Pro Four division for the 2011 season and came out of the box strong, dominating both his heat race and the 25-lap main event for Maine’s most unique four-cylinder division. Bryan Lancaster of Skowhegan was able to mount a brief challenge to Chapman, but he settled for a distant second-place finish. Benton’s Jamie Foster won the best battle in the race, for third position, with the top-five filled out by newcomer Sean Johnson of Stockton Springs and Fairfield’s Paul Jackson.

New Sharon racer Zach Audet drove to convincing victories in both heat and feature race competition in the Monster Energy Drink Monsta Mini division. Early race leader John Fortin of Vassalboro drove one of his best-ever races and nailed down runner-up honors, with multi-time and reigning division champion Mike Wilson of Chelsea forced to settle for third. Readfield’s Pete McCollett crossed the line in fourth position, with the top five filled out by Tim Robinson, who was a contender until some late-race misfortune dropped him back in the running order.

Waldoboro’s Ryan Ripley prevailed in the 20-lap main event for the Flyin’ 4 class. Ripley took the lead away from heat race winner Donny Silva of Hudson, who chased Ripley to the checkered flag in second position. Matt Shaw of Burnham was the third-place finisher, in front of brothers Cole and Kyle Robinson of Clinton, both moving up from the Teen Thunder class this season.

Amanda Batchelder of Fairfield claimed victory in Waterville Oaks Ladies division competition. Christie Foster drove a consistent race to finish in the runner-up position, with Carol Wilson bouncing back from a heat race crash to grab the final available trophy spot. Chelsea’s Mika Wilson and Alica Goodwin of Clinton were fourth and fifth under the checkered flag. Foster won the heat race.

Jayson Bosworth of Cornville led wire-to-wire in the Geo & Sons Teen Thunder feature race, dominating his opening day rivals. Ricky Pease of Detroit was the best of the rest, with Burnham’s Emily McAlpine filling out the podium. Montville’s Colby Robbins and April McAlpine of Burnham rounded out the top five. Bosworth also won the heat race.

Racing action moves to the summertime Saturday night schedule this weekend (May 28), with the NELCAR Legends Cars joining the weekly racing classes. Post time is 6:00 p.m. For more information call (207) 453-2021 or visit unityraceway.info

Late Model (111 laps): 1. X Jeff Burgess, Fairfield; 2. 15 David Folsom I, Skowhegan; 3. 14 Joey Doyon, Winterport; 4. 09 Justin Drake, Dover-Foxcroft; 5. 22 Ajay Picard, Palmyra; 6. 94 Steve Rackliff, Starks; 7. 25 Will Collins, Waldoboro; 8. 75 David Folsom II, Skowhegan; 9. 1 Willy Pelotte, Oakland; 10. 18 Brian Whitney, Burnham; 11. 34 Tyler Robbins, Montville; 12. 12 Seth Raven, Waldo; 13. 20 Corey Walker, New Vineyard; 14. 17 Chris Thorne, Sidney; 15. 21 Ben Clark, Clinton; 16. 9 Dylan Turner, Freedom; 17. 02 Shane Lane, Kingfield.

Racin’ Paper Super Street (20 laps): 1. 47 Nate Weston, Madison; 2. 21 Nick Kris Huff, Orrington; 3. 04 Allan Moeller, Dresden; 4. 15 Craig Smith, East Waterboro.

Keystone Automotive Wildcat (25 laps): 1. 51 Bryan Robbins, Montville; 2. 03 Maurice Young, Chelsea; 3. 29 Chris King, Burnham; 4. 22 Ed Sleeper, Vassalboro; 5. 24 Ed Gilblair, Skowhegan; 6. 51 Tyler Ring, Detroit; 7. 17 Kris Matchett, Skowhegan.

Uncle Henry’s Late Model Pro Four (25 laps): 1. 64 Lance Chapman, Benton; 2. 81 Bryan Lancaster, Skowhegan; 3. 22 Janie Foster, Benton; 4. 9 Sean Johnson, Stockton Springs; 5. 56 Paul Jackson, Fairfield; 6. 26 Norm Cummings, Jr., Augusta; 7. 38 Tim Robinson, Clinton; 8. 91 Alex Fernald, Benton.

Monster Energy Drink Monsta Mini (20 laps): 1. 19 Zach Audet, New Sharon; 2. 46 John Fortin, Vassalboro; 3. 92 Mike Wilson, Chelsea; 4. 20 Pete McCollett, Readfield; 5. 23 Tim Robinson, Clinton; 6. 2 Greg Cummings, Augusta; 7. 53 Richard Jackson, Hudson; 8. 15 Brad Bosworth, Cornville.

Flyin’ 4 (20 laps): 1. 09 Ryan Ripley, Waldoboro; 2. 71 Donny Silva, Hudson; 3. 09 Matt Shaw, Burnham; 4. 61 Cole Robinson, Clinton; 5. 62 Kyle Robinson, Clinton; 6. 22 Tyler Gero, Fairfield; 7. 8 Mike Fernald, Benton.

Waterville Oaks Ladies (20 laps): 1. 23 Amanda Batchelder, Fairfield; 2. 19 Christie Foster, Skowhegan; 3. 06 Carol Wilson, Chelsea; 4. 94 Mika Wilson, Chelsea; 5. 00 Alica Goodwin, Clinton.

Geo & Sons Teen Thunder (15 laps): 1. 51 Jayson Bosworth, Cornville; 2. 20 Ricky Pease, Detroit; 3. 18 Emily McAlpine, Burnham; 4. 15 Colby Robbins, Montville; 5. 11 April McAlpine, Burnham; 6. 01 Kyle Jackson, Fairfield; 7. 70 Robert Dyer, Canaan; 8. 88 Wes Turner, Montville.