Andy Shaw and Shane Tatro PASS Mod, Sportsman winners

Scarborough ME (4/30) Johnny Clark reclaimed the lead on lap 120 of Saturday’s Pro All Stars Series (PASS) North season opener at Scarborough Maine’s Beech Ridge Motor Speedway and the defending super late model champ survived several late race cautions to nab the 150 lap feature over a charging Donnie Whitten. Ben Rowe, Lonnie Sommerville and Shawn Turple rounded out the top five.

Clark led the most laps from his pole position start but the win was by no means easy. There were plenty of challengers up front. Travis Benjamin dogged the leader early on until mechanical issues sent him to the pit area. Benjamin returned to finish ninth. Derek Ramstrom was on fire too, taking the lead away from the defending series champ on lap 113.But problems sidelined Ramstrom too, possibly the result of contact with Clark on one of several tooth and nail restarts as the pair battled for the top spot. Ramstrom’s troubles gave Trevor Sanborn a shot at the lead and he took advantage, taking over the point for several laps before Clark powered by on a lap 120 restart.

Donnie Whitten was the man on the move, racing up from shot gun on the field into the top ten by lap 40. Whitten spun under green on lap 101 and had to scramble back through the field without the aid of a caution. When the checkers dropped Whitten was two car lengths and one position shy of his goal but his performance kept the packed grandstand on the edge of their seats from start to finish.

Rowe, Sanborn, Sommerville, Ramstrom Shawn Turple and Bill Rodgers were all at or near the front all day. Quebec’s Alex Gingras earned his best PASS finish to date with a sixth place run. It was a good day at the races for our friends from the North, with New Brunswick’s Sommerville fourth, Nova Scotian Shawn Turple fifth and Gingras just outside the top five.

Plenty of new faces dotted the results including. Jonathon Hicken, Kyle DeSouza, Matt Matheson and Bryan Kruscek Larry Gelinas returned to PASS North competition for the first time in several years in the McKeage 40 but the multi time PASS North winner was sidelined early..Defending race winner Mike Rowe was behind the wheel of a new ride but the team had a tough day finishing eighteenth, two laps down.

Clark, Benjamin and Sanborn each claimed a heat race win and Kirk Thibeau won the consolation round. Sixteen cars finished on the lead lap. Clark’s margin of victory was .336 seconds.

Both the PASS Mod and Sportsman divisions got their touring seasons underway at Beech Ridge and defending PASS Mod Champion Andy Shaw scored a dominant win from the pole, leading all 40 laps. Alan Wilson, Mod newcomer Travis Buzzell, Dana Reed and Scott McDaniel raced home second through fifth. Shaw and Wilson both scored a heat race win.

Shane Tatro and Carey Martin dueled early on in the PASS Sportsman’s 75 lap feature but it was Tatro claiming the lead for good just past the half way mark to take down the opening day win. Clyde Hennessey snuck by Martin for second and Martin had to settle for third. Craig Smith and Kevin Douglas rounded out the top five. Martin and Tatro won their qualifiers.

The PASS North super late models take a week off before they head to Star Speedway in Epping New Hampshire on Saturday May 14th. Feature racing goes green at 6:06 PM. For more information click on the Star Speedway link on the PASS Master schedule at .

Unofficial finish
PASS North Super Late Model 150 – Beech Ridge Motor Speedway-Scarborough ME 4/30

1 54 Johnny Clark 2 7 Donnie Whitten 3 4 Ben Rowe 4 48 Lonnie Sommerville 5 0T Shawn Turple 6 27 QC Alex Gingras 7 29 Trevor Sanborn 8 53 Bill Rodgers 9 17 Travis Benjamin 10 77 Scott Chubbuck 11 33 Richie Dearborn 12 14M Matt Frahm 13 22 Aaron Ricker 14 5 John Hicken 15 84 Scott Mulkern 16 47 Kelly Moore 17 17T Chris Thorne 18 24 Mike Rowe 19 28 Kirk Thibeau 20 17A Scott Alexander 21 73 Doiron 22 88 Kyle DeSouza 23 2 Matt Matheson 24 10 Scott Dragon 25 0 Bill Penfold 26 35 Derek Ramstrom 27 40 Larry Gelinas 28 60 DJ Shaw 29 21 David Oliver 30 00 Bryan Kruscek 31 20 Mike Landry

PASS Sportsman 75 lap feature – Beech Ridge Motor Speedway, Scarborough ME – 4/30

1 7 Shane Tatro 2 8 Clyde Hennessey 3 18 Carey Martin 4 15 Craig Smith 5 16 Kevin Douglas 6 38 Dan McKeage 7 51 RJ Austin 8 22 Steve Bennett Jr. 9 58 Lyman McKeage 10 75 Doug Wolfe 11 10 Donnie Morse 12 35 Bobby Nadeau 13 34 Spencer Morse 14 01 Rob Drew 15 777 Mike St. Germain 16 1 Ken Marier 17 42 Corey Bubar

PASS Mod 40 lap feature – Beech Ridge Motor Speedway, Scarborough ME – 4/30

1 66 Andy Shaw 2 83W Alan Wilson 3 3 Travis Buzzell 4 60 Dana Reed 5 14 Scott McDaniel 6 33 Bill Dixon 7 53 Leo Oliveira 8 56X Rich Ferreira 9 85 Mitch Miller 10 28 Mark Lundblad Jr. 11 50 Sumner Sessions 12 61 Shawn Austin 13 21 Charlie Small