Dearborn dominates, late cautions set up wild finish

EPPING NH (5/14) – Derek Ramstrom returned to the site of his first Pro All Stars Series super late model win and claimed the lead on lap 148 of the 150 lap feature to capture his first PASS North win since July of 2009. Ben Rowe raced home in second with Joey Polewarczyk third.

Richie Dearborn dominated ninety percent of the night. Dearborn started on the front row and fought off a handful of restart challenges, opening up a comfortable lead each time. But late in the race his ride went off song and Scott Chubbuck ate away at his lead and took control with eight laps to go.

But on lap 144 the yellow flag flew, setting up one of the wildest finishes in the Pro All Star’s 200-plus feature race history.
Chubbuck was now in control with Johnny Clark to his outside and Joey Pole on his bumper with Dearborn back to fourth. When the green waved the top three were beating and banging to the extent that Chubbuck, Clark and Polewarczyk wound up parked on top of turn two. Dearborn shot under them all to reclaim the lead with Lonnie Sommerville second. Ramstrom to third and Joey Doiron fourth t when the caution flew.

The next green didn’t stay out for long. Dearborn spun out of the lead with a tire that finally went flat and Derek Ramstrom threaded the needle to capture the top spot. Doiron made it all the way to second with Ben Rowe now third for the green-white-checker finish

Ramstrom shot into the lead when the final green flag flew and Rowe was looking under Doiron for second. Doiron’s great run ended with the checkered flag in sight when the 2010 PASS North Rookie of the Year took a trip into the front stretch wall. When the dust settled Ramstrom had his third PASS North career win, Ben Rowe crossed the line in second on a flat right rear and Joey Pole came back to where he started when the late race melee began, in third. Lonnie Sommerville crossed the stripe in fourth and Scott Chubbuck recovered to salvage a top five. Point leader Johnny Clark came home eighth.

Ramstrom’s margin of victory was .974 seconds; nine of the twenty two starters finished on the lead lap. Heat race wins went to Polewarczyk, Dearborn and Doiron.

The Pro All Stars are back in New Hampshire for another quarter mile throw down at North Woodstock’s White Mountain Motorsports Park on Saturday May 21. PASS super late model qualifying goes green at 4:00 PM.

For more information visit the home of the Pro All Stars Series on line at . White Mountain Motorsports Park’s web address is .

Unnofficial Finish: PASS North Star 150 – Star Speedway, Epping NH 5/14/2011

1 35 Derek Ramstrom 2 4 Ben Rowe 3 97 Joey Pole 4 48 Lonnie Sommerville 5 77 Scott Chubbuck 6 14M Matt Frahm 7 12 John Dabrowski 8 54 Johnny Clark 9 33 Richie Dearborn 10 73 Joey Doiron 11 17 Travis Benjamin 12 7 Donnie Whitten 13 Matt Matheson 14 21 David Oliver 15 27Qc Alex Gingras 16 24 Mike Rowe 17 00 Bryan Cruczek 18 10 Scott Dragon 19 88 Kyle DeSouza 20 11NH Steve Johnson 21 11 Austin Brehio 22 17A Scott Alexander