Claremont, N.H. — Rowan Pennink of Huntingdon Valley, PA., survived six caution periods and three red flags to win the 100-lap Valenti Modified Racing Series event, Saturday night, at Twin State Speedway, Claremont, NH.The victory was Pennink’s third with the VMRS and his first of the 2011 season.

Chris Pasteryak, Lisbon, CT., and Jon McKennedy, E. Chelmsford, MA., brought the field to green with McKennedy jumping into the lead until Pasteryak took over the top spot on lap four. Pasteryak then set the pace before turning over the lead to Pennink on lap 39. Pennink led the remaining 60 laps to secure the win.

“Gary Casella and the 25 team did an awesome job, this car was strong all day,” Pennink said, “Got out front, got by Chris for the lead and just held them off from there.” The 25-year-old driver received challenges from Pasteryak, and Todd Patnode, of Richmond, NH., late in the race but was never headed.

Patnode, settled for second Chris Pasteryak third, Dwight Jarvis, Ascutney, VT., fourth, and Ken Barry, Preston, CT., fifth

Sixth through tenth were, Rob Goodenough, Les Hinckley, Aaron Fellows, Joe Doucette, and Kirk Alexander.

The race program was marred by several crashes with many competitors receiving heavy damage. Sean Bodreau, of Claremont, flipped end-over-end in the first qualifying race forcing the second generation driver out of the event. Bodreau was not injured.

The win moved Pennink into the lead in the point standings (130) over Chris Pasteryak, (128) Hinckley (126) Goodenough (108) and Norm Wrenn (86).

27 race teams entered the event. 25 cars started the 100- lap race with 13 finishing on the lead lap.

Next Event: Seekonk Speedway, Seekonk, Mass. June 11. (6:00 PM)

Race Summary:
Race # 2
Twin State Speedway Claremont, NH
Distance: 100 laps
Time of Race: 1:14:12
Margin of Victory: 0.438
Best Lap Time: 13.286 (Kirk Alexander)
Best Speed: 90:132 Alexander

Lap Leaders: McKennedy (1-3) Chris Pasteryak (4-34)
Pennink (25, 40-100)

Cautions: 3,29,33 (Red) 33, 34,38 (Red),78,78,88 (Red)

Unofficial Order of Finish:
1. Rowan Pennink
2. Todd Patnode
3. Chris Pasteryak
4. Dwight Jarvis
5. Ken Barry
6. Rob Goodenough
7. Les Hinckley
8. Aaron Fellows
9. Joe Doucette
10. Kirk Alexander
11. Eddy Spiers
12. Jacob Dore
13. Carl Pasteryak
14. Josh Sylvester
15. Mike Holdridge
16. Todd Annarummo
17. Norm Wrenn
18. Jon McKennedy
19. Louie Mechalides
20. Mark McClay
21. Jim Boniface
22. Jack Bateman
23. Timmy Jordan
24. Steve Masse
25. Max Zachem