Mike Hopkins makes it 3 for 3 in Late Models

Steve Heath of Milo outlasted a determined but disappointed Bradley Norris of Ellsworth to take the win in Saturday night’s Varney Agency Sport-Four Series event number one. Heath started on the pole by virtue of winning the qualifying heat and swapped the lead with Norris several times as the duo raced side by side for the first 16 laps. Heath took the lead for good on lap 17 as the pair went inside and outside while overlapping a slower car. In his haste to catch back up, Norris spun his car out of second place in turn four of the 28th lap, and ended up third after 2010 champion Keith Ogden of Holden slipped by into second as Norris recovered from the spin. Fourth went to Mike Heath of Brownville with last week’s winner Jay Robichaud of Eddington finishing in fifth. The remaining order of finish was 6. Becky Elston, Carmel,7. Ralph Allen, Hermon, 8. Joshua Grant, Carmel,9. James Johnson II, Bucksport,10. Ryan Kennedy, Holden,11. Roy Hathorn, Brownville 12. Bradley Dolan, Winterport.

In Late Model action, Mike Hopkins of Hermon made it three for three for the season, but it wasn’t due to being the dominant car or driver. Hopkins started mid pack and worked his way into third, then inherited the top spot when leaders Deane Smart of Bradley and Brenton Parritt of Steuben ended up at the rear of the field. Smart had grabbed the lead from Parritt on lap 3, and held it to lap 17 when a spin by Greg Ellis of Hermon brought out the yellow. After two false restarts, caused by Parritt jumping the start, and a stern warning from track officials, Smart and Parritt finally got the race restarted, but it was short lived as contact between Smart and Parritt brought out a caution two laps later. Smart was then forced to restart at the rear of the field as the caution flag was thrown for his spin, and Parritt was sent to the rear for causing the spin. Josh St. Clair of Liberty finished in second after starting at the rear of the 14 car field. Ryan Deane of Winterport notched his third top five finish of the season finishing third, with John Kalel II of Orrington fourth and Smart, with a strong recovery, finishing fifth. Dale Swoboda of Hermon was sixth, followed by Parritt in seventh, 8. Duane Seekins, Stockton Springs, 9. Greg Ellis, Hermon, 10. Alex Waltz, Damariscotta,11. George Dunn, Eastbrook, 12. Donny Blanchard, Bangor, 13. Joey Doyon, Winterport, 14. Dave St. Clair, Liberty.

Kevin Seekins of Frankfort got his first win of the season in the Bombers after a roller coaster ride caused by his car intermittently running good and bad, causing him to lose the lead then gain it back several times. Ryan Modery of Hermon finished in second in the race that went from green to checkers without a caution. Gilbert Ogden Jr. of Ellsworth was third, followed by Garrett Hayman of Milford and Duane Seekins of Stockton Springs. Patrick Cook of Swanville finished sixth in his first appearance of the season, with Ken Ogden of Seal Cove seventh and Josh Dillon of Milo eighth.

Cody Brassbridge of Frankfort picked up the win in the Strictly Streets after Bob Seger of Frankfort fell out of the lead with mechanical problems and two time winner Andrew McLaughlin of Harrington left in a cloud of engine smoke. Shawn Hamel II of Bangor finished in second with 2010 champion Jim Carr Jr, of Clifton in third. Roger Smith Jr. of Clifton took the fourth spot, followed by Shelby Kimball of Cornville. McLaughlin was credited with a 6th place finish, followed by Seger in 7th and Michael Houde of Howland in 8th.

Steve Moulton of Holden led the Sportsman feature from the green to the checkers in a race stopped three times in the first three laps for solo spins by Gene Wason of Greenbush, who finally parked his car for the night after the third time. Gaining on the leader but unable to pass as laps ran out was D.J. Moody of Prospect who finished the event a strong second. Third went to Ryan St. Clair of Liberty in his first appearance of the season. St. Clair had to hold off a race long challenge from last week’s winner Jeremy Glasier of Appleton, who finished fourth. Doug Sinclair of Hermon was fifth, with Mike Overlock of Franklin and Wasson finishing sixth and seventh.

Racing at Speedway 95 will take a short break as the Monster Jam invades the speedway for the June 3, 4, and 5th week-end. Regular racing will resume on Saturday, June 11 at 7:00 p.m. when NAPA Auto Parts sponsors the night featuring the Dysart’s Late Models in a 50 lap series event, their second of the season.


Season 12 of the Varney Buick, GMC, Mazda Wacky Wednesday racing series starts at 7:00 p.m. on Wednesday June 1, and will continue through the summer until Wednesday, August 31. The program will again include the Big Enduro, Little Enduro, Ladies, Pick up Trucks, and the Stars of Tomorrow divisions. Competition in these divisions will be wide open as several drivers have made the move to Saturday night racing. Little Enduro Champion Donny Blanchard has moved to the Late Models, Big Enduro leader Adam Gardner is running the Strictly Streets, Becky Elston is in the Sport-Fours and her toughest competitor, Shelby Kimball, is running strong in the Street Stocks. Ryan Modery has moved from the Stars of Tomorrow to the Saturday night Bomber division, but any or all of them could also be back for Wednesday night competition. It all starts Wednesday, June 1 at 7:00