Shawn MacNevin of Hudson broke Eddie Cobb’s 5 race winning streak in the Big Enduros at Speedway 95 Wednesday night when he won the 25 lap series feature event. MacNevin took the lead from Cobb on lap 3 and held off a strong challenge from Adam Gardner of Bangor, who was making his first appearance of the season. Cobb fell back in the pack and eventually retired to the pit with a burned wheel bearing. Shawn Racilla of Dover-Foxcroft finished in third, followed by Bengie Littlefield of Brooks in fourth and Garland’s Erlon Noyes in fifth. Roger Gardner of Brewer, Dennis Burns of Carmel and Cobb rounded out the finishing order.

Another winning streak was snapped Wednesday night when Becky Elston won the Ladies feature event. Chelsea Young of Winterport had won the past five, but had to pit for a flat tire during the race and went four laps down to the leader. Danielle Beale of Hampden finished a close second after challenging Elston for the lead for most of the event. Kayla Allen of Penobscot took the third place trophy home, followed by Nicole Smith of Bangor in fourth and Amy Houde of Howland in fifth. Young was credited with a sixth place finish.

The third winning streak to fall this night was Jim Carr’s in the pick up trucks. Carr took the lead from pole sitter Dana Harlow on lap 16, but Harlow powered back by Carr on the final lap to take the win. Carr finished a close second with Corinth’s Peter Drake finishing third. David Gray of Dixmont finished fourth after blowing a right rear tire coming out of turn four on the final lap. Fifth spot went to pole sitter Anthony Moore of Brewer. Jeff Overlock of Hermon and Bobby Vachon of Orrington rounded out the field.

A fourth winning streak was almost lost as Matt Kimball of Cornville, who had won the past five races in the Stars of Tomorrow, inherited the lead on lap 13 of the 15 lap event when leader D.C.Alexander of Carmel spun out of the lead in turn three. Alexander had passed Kimball on lap 10 and held the lead until his mistake on lap 13. Alexander recovered to finish second, followed by William McCullough of Kenduskeag in third. Robert Dyer of Canaan finished fourth followed by Wes Turner of Montville in fifth. Darit Him of Lamoine finished sixth, several laps down to the leader.

The Little Enduros have had only one repeat winner this season, and Travis Beal of Hampden made sure it didn’t happen again. Beale led the 20 lap feature from the pole to the checkers for his first win of the season. Last week’s winner Ted Ryder of Carmel started 14th in the field and moved through the pack to catch Beale on lap 18, but was unable to get past for the win. Ryder finished second, followed by Hermon’s Andrew Crosby who finished third after starting on the outside pole next to Beale. Fourth place went to Garret Hayman of Milford, after he held off two time winner Darren Durrell over the last two laps. Durrell finished fifth, followed by Orrington’s Mark Sawyer, Kevin Seekins of Frankfort, and Ken Ogden of Seal Cove. Jeremy Scott of Carmel and Michael Blais of Hampden rounded out the top 10.

Varney GMC Buick Mazda Wacky Wednesday action continues on Wednesday, July 6 with a full card of racing highlighted by Little Enduro Series race #2. All other divisions will see regular racing that night.