Chuck Colby and Corey Bubar headline wins at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway

By Dan Walker
Beech Ridge Motor Speedway release

Scarborough, Maine- Chuck Colby scored his first NASCAR Whelan All American Series race win on Saturday night at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway following the 40 lap Pro Series main event. Bob Gahan set the early pace with a tightly stacked field behind him. Gahan and Scott Moore ran 12 laps side by side through the mid point of the race. The 8 cars behind the leaders were also side by side with racing room not available. Moore powered around Gahan on lap 30 and appeared to be headed to his first win. But contact between Dan McKeage and Bob Gahan brought out the caution flag on lap 34 as Gahan got the worst end of the contact and went spinning. On the restart Moore and Colby went side by side for the lead with Colby powering to the top on lap 35 and McKeage moving to the second position. Over the final 4 laps, McKeage tried to peek inside of Colby but could not get the job done as Colby sailed under the checkered flag for the win. McKeage was second with Trevor Sanborn third. Bill Rodgers and Scott Moore were fourth and fifth.

Corey Bubar won a very competitive Sport Series feature race on Saturday night. Rookie Charlie Sanborn led from the pole position and stayed out front through 3 caution flags leading up to lap 33. With a 2 lap dash for the win set Sanborn and Bubar squared off like a couple of prize fighters rubbing and gouging swapping paint tire smoke in the air fight for the win. On lap 33 the leaders banged through turn 1 with both drivers making impressive saves to keep from wrecking. While that was going on a couple of rows back several cars got twisted up bringing out another caution flag. On this restart Bubar got a good jump and took the lead but Sanborn would not go quietly. With the checkered flag waving in the air, Bubar got to the line just in front of Sanborn for the victory. Frank Wear had the best seat in the house and finished third with Dave Langlais and Don Colpritt fourth and fifth.

Matt Gain waited patiently to make his move for the lead in the Wildcat feature race. Glen Reynolds led the opening 22 laps with Gain following along closely as the top two separated from the field. Gain moved around Reynolds on lap 23 and took the lead all the way to the checkered flag. Reynolds was second with Nicholas Cusack third. Lewis Anderson and David Vaughn were fourth and fifth. Shawn Brackett won the 20 lap Road Runner feature. Nicole Timmons led the first 6 laps before Clayton Loubier took over. Loubier looked like he might steal the win but Brackett kept closing the gap until lap 18 when Loubier opened the inside lane and Brackett stole the spot. Brackett led the final 2 laps in taking the win with Dave Cameron second. Loubier slipped to third at the finish with Brian Graffam fourth and Ed Connolly fifth.