Will Collins scores Unity Raceway Late Mdel victory

Unity, Maine – Will Collins of Waldoboro made a late charge to the front pay off, posting his first victory of the season in the 35-lap Late Model main event topping the racing card at Unity Raceway Friday night.

Collins waited patiently for his opportunity as he stalked leader David Folsom II, the found the room he needed to move underneath the Skowhegan racer and grab a lead he would not relinquish.

A couple of late restarts scrambled the finishing order behind the top two, with David Folsom I of Skowhegan eventually claiming the third-place trophy. Tyler Robbins of Montville ended up in fourth place, with point leader Jeff Burgess of East Madison rounding out the top five. Folsom II won the heat race.

Point leader Maurice Young of Chelsea padded his advantage at the top of the Keystone Automotive Wildcat division rankings with a victory in his 20-lap feature race, after battling for the top spot with last year’s champion, Chris King of Burnham. Young and King were chased to the checkered flag by multi-time division kingpin Carl McAlpine of Burnham, driving a car borrowed from Tyler Ring after engine woes sidelined his regular mount. Kris Matchett of Skowhegan was fourth, followed by Ed Sleeper of Vassalboro. Sleeper won the heat race.

Tim Robinson of Clinton spun once, got spun out once, then charged back to claim his second straight feature event triumph in the Late Model Pro Four main event. Sean Johnson of Sidney and point leader Lance Chapman of Benton battled for the lead throughout most of the race, but they were forced to settle for second and third-place hardware after Robinson sped by aboard the Jimmy Dennis 38. Multi-time division champion Steve Rackliff of Starks finished fourth in his first start in the class this year. Norm Cummings, Jr. of Augusta rounded out the top five. Johnson won the heat race.

Zach Audet of New Sharon continued his dominance of the Monster Mini class, easily outdistancing reigning and multi-time division champion Mike Wilson of Chelsea in their 20-lap main event. Hudson’s Richard Jackson was the third-place finisher, in front of Augusta’s Greg Cummings and Brent Roy of Vassalboro. Wilson won the heat race.

In the Flyin’ 4 20-lapper it was a Boz Boys battle for the top spot as Jayson Bosworth – in just his second race since moving up from the Teen Thunder class – beat older brother Brad Bosworth to the checkered flag. Bruce Nickerson of Norridgewock was the best of the rest in third position, with the top five filled out by Burnham’s Matt Shaw and Mike Dulaney of Richmond. Brad Bosworth won the heat race.

Austin Clemons of Norridgewock prevailed in the 15-lap Teen Thunder feature event. Reigning division champion Wes Turner of Montville claimed runner-up honors, with Montville’s Colby Robbins earning the third-place trophy. Derek Pariseau of Brooks was fourth across the line, followed by the previous week’s winner, Emily McAlpine of Burnham. Clemons also won the heat race.

Skowhegan’s Chad Folsom claimed yet another victory in the 20-lap main event for the growing Challenger division. Sidney’s Ken Lord made it a bit more difficult for Folsom, but had to settle for another second-place trophy. Eric Peavey of Clinton was third under the checkered flag, followed by Mike Stowe of Waterville and Freedom’s Kyle Turner. Folsom and Hank Elkins of Knox won heat races.

Saturday, July 30 is Champion’s Night at Unity Raceway, with dozens of former track champions scheduled to be on hand. A 5:00 p.m. autograph session and meet and greet with the former titlists precedes the 6:00 p.m. racing card. For more information visit unityraceway.info or call (207) 453-2021,

Late Model (35 laps): 1. 25 Will Collins, Waldoboro; 2. 75 David Folsom II, Skowhegan; 3. 15 David Folsom I, Skowhegan; 4. 34 Tyler Robbins, Montville; 5. X Jeff Burgess, East Madison; 6. 9 Dylan Turner, Freedom; 7. 7 Brian Gullifer, Farmington; 8. 07 Bobby Sgeer, Frankfort.

Keystone Automotive Wildcat (20 laps): 1. 03 Maurice Young, Chelsea; 2. 29 Chris King, Burnham; 3. 51 Carl McAlpine, Burnham; 4. 17 Kris Matchett, Skowhegan; 5. 22 Ed Sleeper, Vassalboro; DNS Tyler ‘T-Bone’ Ring, Detroit.

Uncle Henry’s Late Model Pro Four (20 laps): 1. 38 Tim Robinson, Clinton; 2. Sean Johnson, Sidney; 3. 64 Lance Chapman, Benton; 4. 94 Steve Rackliff, Starks; 5. 26 Norm Cummings, Jr., Augusta; DNS 91 Alex Fernald, Benton.

Monster Mini (20 laps): 1. 19 Zach Audet, New Sharon; 2. 92 Mike Wilson, Chelsea; 3. 53 Richard Jackson, Hudson; 4. 2 Greg Cummings, Augusta; 5. 26 Brent Roy, Vassalboro; 6. 61 John Fortin, Vassalboro.

Flyin’ 4 (20 laps): 1. 51 Jayson Bosworth, Cornville; 2. 15 Brad Bosworth, Cornville; 3. 11 Bruce Nickerson, Norridgewock; 4. 09 Matt Shaw, Burnham; 5. 10 Mike Dulaney, Richmond; 6. Mika Wilson, Chelsea; 7. 61 Cole Robinson, Clinton; 8. 62 Kyle Robinson, Clinton; 9. 04 Nate Tribbett, Richmond; 10. 22x Bob Gerard, Augusta.

Teen Thunder (15 laps): 1. 21 Austin Clemons, Norridgewock; 2. 88 Wes Turner, Montville; 3. 15 Colby Robbins, Montville; 4. 34 Derek Pariseau, Brooks; 5. 18 Emily McAlpine, Burnham; 6. 70 Robert Dyer, Canaan; 8. 20 Ricky Pease, Detroit.

Challenger (20 laps): 1. 15 Chad Folsom, Skowhegan; 2. 84 Ken Lord, Sidney; 3. 44 Eric Peavey, Clinton; 4. 45 Mike Stowe, Waterville; 5. 17 Kyle Turner, Freedom; 6. 88 Henry Boudreau, Bristol; 7. 24 Reggie Moulton, Troy; 8. 4 Richard Moulton, Sr., Knox; 9. 19 Donald Giggey, Athens; 10. 7 Troy Rusconi, Clinton; 11. 16 Rodney Downer II, Knox; 12. 18 Hank Elkins, Knox; 13. 11 Samantha Farnham, Benton; 14. 45x Nick Jackson, Waterville.