Unity, Maine – David Folsom II scored his first Late Model feature race victory Saturday night at Unity Raceway in a hard-fought 35-lap race. The Skowhegan newlywed, known as ‘Deuce,’ raced hard for the lead throughout the event – first with veteran hotshoe Jeff Burgess of East Madison who led half the race, then later holding off Freedom teen Dylan Turner in the closing laps.

Turner claimed runner-up honors in one of the most exciting main events of the season, while Burgess had to settle for third-place hardware. Burnham’s Brian Whiney crossed the line in fourth position, followed by the winner’s father, David Folsom I of Skowhegan. Deuce Folsom and Corey Walker of Strong posted heat race victories.

Visiting NELCAR Legends presented an entertaining 20-lap feature race, with Topsham’s Bobby Weymouth quickly working his way through the field to take a lead he would not relinquish before the halfway point. Evan Beaulieu battled lard from the back of the pack to claim runner-up honrs late in the race, with Gray’s Ed Getty, who led almost half of the event, hanging on for a third-place finish. Ed Field of Deep River, Connecticut was fourth, followed by Troy Talman of Oxford, Massachusetts.

Unity’s Randy Turner made his first appearance of the season and took top honors in the secial 40-lap main event for the Monster Mini class. Turner and Zach Audet had a great battle for the lead after Mike Mason, who had been dominating the race, vaulted an errant lapped car and flew into the turn one sand barrier, ending his night. Audet had a tire cut down while swapping paint with Turner for the lead, leaving Readfield’s Pete McCollett to challenge the former Pro Stock champion in the closing laps.

McCollett fought the good fight, but came up a bit short, settling for runner-up honors behind Turner. Richard Jackson of Hudson nailed down the final podium finishing position, with the top five filled out by John Fortin of Vassalboro and Augusta’s Greg Cummings. Madison’s Mason won the heat race.

Nate Weston of Madison made a three-wide pass between leaders Allen Moeller, Jr. and Allen Moeller Sr. and romped to victory in the 20-lap Racin’ Paper Super Street main event. Nick Huff of Orrington chased Weston under the checkered flag, with Brad Bellows of China Village ending up in third position. The Dresden-based Moellers were fourth and fifth, with the elder Moeller making a last-lap move past Junior. Moeller, Jr. was the heat race victor.

Burnham’s Carl McAlpine took the lead away from his crosstown rival, reigning Keystone Automotive Indistries Wildcat division champion Chris King, then outraced point leader Maurice Young of Chelsea to the checkered flag in his 20-lap feature race. Ed Sleeper of Vassalboro turned in a fine third-place performance, with Bill Bowley of Canaan and King rounding out the top five. King won the heat race.

Lance Chapman of Benton continued his winning ways, scoring a victory in a wild 20-lap race for the Uncle Henry’s Late Model Pro Four class after a great battle for supremacy with Clinton’s Tim Robinson, who claimed runner-up honors. Justin Drake of Burnham, the previous week’s winner, raced from the back of the starting line-up into third position after 20 laps. Sean Johnson of Sideny was fourth, followed by Alex Fernald of Benton. Drake won the heat race.

Clinton teenager Cole Robinson won his first feature race since moving out of the Teen Thunder class with a dominant run in the 20-lap Flyin’ 4 division main event after inheriting the lead from Burnham’s Matt Shaw when Shaw’s machine went up in smoke. Norridgewock’s Bruce Nickerson, the previous week’s winner, drove from the back of the pack into second position, with the winner’s younger brother, Kyle Robinson of Clinton, claiming third-place honors. Bob Sleeper’s first appearance in the class netted a fourth-place finish, in front of Fairfield youngster Tyler Gerow. Shaw won the heat race.

Jayson Bosworth of Cornville resumed his winning ways in the 15-lap Linkletter Teen Thunder feature, holding off a determined Austin Clemons of Norridgewock to earn the victory. The previous week’s winner, Ricky Pease of Detroit, drove from daed last on the starting grid to an impressive third-place finish in front Burnham sisters Emily and April McAlpine to round out the top five. Bosworth also won the heat race.

Chad Folsom of Skowhegan ended a one-week absence from victory lane with yet another victory in the 20-lap Challenger division race. Clinton’s Eric Peavey and Henry Boudreau of Bristol took the second and third-place trophies home.

Racing continues Saturday night at 6:00 p.m., with the annual Christmas in July show including the penny pounce for kids on tap this weekend (July 16). For more information call (207) 453-2021 or visit unityraceway.info

Late Model (35 laps) 1. 75 David Folsom II, Skowhegan; 2. 9 Dylan Turner, Freedom; 3. X Jeff Burgess, East Madison; 4. 18 Brian Whitney, Burnham; 5. 15 David Folsom I, Skowhegan; 6. 25 Will Collins, Waldoboro; 7. 2 Ryan Robinson, Clinton; 8. 20 Corey Walker, Strong; 9. 94 Steve Rackliff, Starks; 10. 34 Tyler Robbins, Montville; 11. 10 Glenn Curtis, Hudson; 12. 7 Brian Gullifer, Farmington.

NELCAR Legends Cars (20 laps) 1. 399 Bob Weymouth, Topsham; 2. 56 Evan Beaulieu, Durham; 3. 10 Ed Getty, Gray; 4. 30 Edward Field, Deep River, CT; 5. 83 Troy Talman, Oxford, MA; 6. 33 Alan Smith, Lincoln; 7. 2 Ryan Hammar, Pembroke, NH; 8. 59 Reid Lanphear, Manchester; 9. 46 Chad Harrington, Richmond; 10. 81 Dan Winter, Windham, NH; 11. 17 Terry Kirk, Durham; 12. 4 Peter Craig, Poland; 13. 49 Pete Cannell, South Berwick.

Monster Mini (40 laps) 1. 10 Randy Turner, Unity; 2. 20 Pete McCollett, Readfield; 3. 53 Richard Jackson, Hudson; 4. 46 John Fortin, Vassalboro; 5. 2 Greg Cummings, Augusta; 6. 18 Tim Collins, Farmingdale; 7. 15 Brad Bosworth, Cornville; 8. 19 Zach Audet, New Sharon; 9. 92 Mike Wilson, Chelsea; 10. 51 Mike Mason, Skowhegan; 11. 84 Bob Grady, Pittston.

Racin’ Paper Super Street (20 laps) 1. 47 Nate Weston, Madison; 2. 21 Nick Huff, Orrington; 3. 73 Brad Bellows, China; 4. 04 Allen Moeller, Sr., 5. 4 Allen Moeller, Jr., Dresden.

Keystone Automotive Industries Wildcat (20 laps) 1. 18 Carl McAlpine, Burnham; 2. 03 Maurice Young, Chelsea; 3. 22 Ed Sleeper, Vassalboro; 4. 5x Bill Bowley II, Canaan; 5. 29 Chris King, Burnham; 6. 17 Kris Matchett, Skowhegan; 7. 51 Tyler Ring, Detroit; 8. 9 Wayne Ripley, Waldoboro; 9. 20 Joe Harriman, Liberty; 10. 04 Anthony Milano, Wellington.

Uncle Henry’s Late Model Pro Four (20 laps) 1. 64 Lance Chapman, Benton; 2. 38 Tim Robinson, Clinton; 3. 21 Justin Drake, Burnham; 4. 9 Sean Johnson, Sidney; 5. 91 Alex Fernald, Benton; 6. 26 Norm Cummings, Jr., Augusta; 7. 5 Bill Ellis, Parkman; 8. 56 Paul Jackson, Fairfield.

Flyin’ 4: 1. 61 Cole Robinson, Clinton; 2. 11 Bruce Nickerson, Norridgewock; 3. 62 Kyle Robinson, Clinton; 4. 22x Bob Sleeper, Augusta; 5. 22 Tyler Gerow, Fairfield; 6. 94 Mika Wilson, Chelsea; 7. 09 Matt Shaw, Burnham; DNS 71 Donny Silva, Hudson.

Challenger (20 laps) 1. 15 Chad Folsom, Skowhegan; 2. 10 Eric Peavey, Clinton; 3. 88 Henry Boudreau, Bristol; 4. 7 Troy Rusconi, Clinton; 5. 54 Larry Jackson, Augusta; 6. 84 Ken Lord, Sidney; 7. 96 Samantha Farnham, Benton; 8. 45 Mike Stowe, Waterville; DQ 16 Justin Moore, Smithfield.

Teen Thunder (15 laps) 1. 51 Jayson Bosworth, Cornville; 2. 21 Austin Clemons, Norridgewock; 3. 20 Ricky Pease, Detroit; 4. 18 Emily McAlpine, Burnham; 5. 11 April McAlpine, Burnham; 6. 15 Colby Robbins, Montville; 7. 88 Wes Turner, Montville; 8. 34 Derek Pariseau, Brooks; 9. 01 Kyle Jackson, Fairfield; 20x Kamren Knowles, Readfield.