Andrew Crosby of Hermon won the battle in the Little Enduros at Speedway 95 Wednesday night when he passed pole sitter Travis Beale of Hampden on lap 23 of the caution free 25 lap series race, and went on to post his first win of the season in the division. Darren Durrell of Newburgh also worked his way past Beale on lap 23 to finish second, with Beale finishing third. Ted Ryder of Carmel was fourth and Garret Hayman of Milford came in fifth. Beale was the overall winner of the three race series, and admitted in his post race interview that he was points racing to win the series title, which is why he didn’t challenge Crosby and Durrell when they passed him with two laps to go.

Chelsea Young of Winterport returned to the winner’s circle in the Ladies division as she led the 20 lap feature from the pole to the checkers. Young was never seriously challenged as she held the lead through two restarts to take the win. Kayla Allen of Bucksport finished second with Danielle Beale of Hampden in third. Nicole Smith of Bangor and Amy Houde of Howland rounded out the top five. Young was presented the Mainely Motorsports Driver of the Month award for the month of June during the evening’s intermission break.

In the Stars of Tomorrow, Matt Kimball of Cornville held off Emma Libby of Glenburn to win his 7th feature of the season. Libby could get close whrn Kimball slid up in the corners, but Kimball had enough under the hood to keep Libby from completing the pass. Libby finished second, followed by William McCullough of Hudson and D.C.Alexander of Carmel.

Jim Carr Jr. took the lead in the pick up truck feature on the second lap and led the rest of the way to the end, posting his 6th win of the season. Peter Drake of Corinth gave chase and could see Carr’s bumper, but couldn’t muster enough speed to take the top spot from him. Drake finished second with last week’s winner, David Gray of Dixmont finishing third. Dana Harlow of Bucksport finished fourth with Jeff Overlock Jr. of Hermon picking up a fifth place finish.

Ed Cobb Jr. of LaGrange continued his winning ways in the Big Enduros, but it took him until lap 12 to take the lead away from Benji Littlefield of Brooks, who started on the pole. Shawn MacNevin battled Littlefield for the lead until Cobb took over, and hung on for a runner up finish. Third went to Erlon Noyes of Garland, with Littlefield finishing fourth, followed by Shawn Racilla of Dover-Foxcroft in fifth.

Maine Racing Forum