Speedway 95Dale Swoboda of Hermon won the crash marred Late Model feature at Speedway 95 Saturday night that lost several competitors before the half way point. Swoboda started on the pole and stayed ahead of the carnage, most of which occurred on lap 11. Shane Clark of Winterport spun off turn one with a little help from Brenton Parritt of Steuben. On the resulting restart, a major accident on turn 2 sent several competitors to the pit, never to return to the race. Swoboda continued in the lead, finishing about 10 car lengths ahead of Winterport’s Ryan Deane. Deane couldn’t worry too much about catching Swoboda as he had a red hot Deane Smart of Bradley, who finished third, glued to his bumper for most of the race following the lap 11 restart. Brenton Parritt finished fourth, with Shane Clark riding his bumper to a fifth place finish after recovering from his earlier spin. Last week’s winner, Mike Hopkins, finished sixth without a right fender and door following the lap 11 mess. Duane Seekins, also a victim of the “big one” finished 7th, followed by George Dunn of Eastbrook in 8th. 9th place went to Alex Waltz of Damariscotta, followed by John Kalel II of Orrington, Andy Saunders of Ellsworth, Greg Ellis of Hermon and Nick Jenkins of Brownville who all were eliminated on lap 11. Hopkins and Ryan Deane won the night’s qualifiers, but started near the back of the pack due to their top three finishes last week.

Prior to placing third in the Late Model feature, Deane Smart of Bradley won the Sportsman feature as he continues to sub for the injured Doug Sinclair. Smart started third but was quickly on leader Steve Moulton’s bumper, waiting for him to make a mistake. His chance came on lap 16 of the 25 lap race when Moulton slid a little high out of turn 4, allowing Smart to get his nose under Moulton’s rear quarter panel. Smart held it there, forcing Moulton to stay high. Smart then took the lead and held it to the checkers. Moulton finished second with Nate Weston of Norridgewock, in his first appearance of the season at 95 finishing third. Fourth went to Jeremy Glasier of Appleton with D.J. Moody or Prospect in fifth. Kris Watson of Hermon, Gene Wasson of Greenbush and Franklin’s Mike Overlock rounded out the 8 car field. Smart also won the qualifier earlier in the evening

Becky Elston of Carmel picked up her second feature win of the season in the Sport Fours as she led from the green to the checkers in the caution free 20 lapper. Keith Ogden of Dedham followed her across the finish line in second, with Mike Heath of Brownville passing Matt Shaw of Burnham on the final lap to place third. Shaw took fourth with Steve Heath of Milo in fifth. The remaining finishing order was 6. Gerry Phillips, Hermon, 7. Jay Robichaud, Eddington, 8. Joshua Grant, Carmel, 9. Bradley Dolan, Winterport, 10. Bradley Norris, Ellsworth. And 11. James Johnson II, Bucksport. Elston wss also the winner of the Sport-Four qualifying race.

In the Strictly Streets, Andrew McLaughlin of Harrington won his eighth feature of the season, taking the lead on a lap 7 restart. Shelby Kimball of Cornville finished second, after winning the last two features in a row. Third went to Ren Dore of Addison, in his first top three of the season, followed by Jim Carr Jr. of Clifton in fourth and Cody Brassbridge of Winterport fifth. Ryan Beale of Cherryfield finished 6th, followed by Mike Shaw of Troy, Al Libby of Belfast and Shawn Hamel II of Bangor, who finished in the pits following a trip up the front stretch tire wall that left him high and dry until the wrecker crew brought him back to earth. Mc Laughlin toook the qualifier.

Emma Libby of Glenburn won the Bomber feature after passing early leader Andrew Crosby of Hermon on lap 9 of the 20 lap event. Ryan Modery of Hermon closed in on Libby in the final five laps, but was unable to pass as lapped traffic held him back. Modery finished second, followed by Crosby in third, Ken Ogden of Seal Cove in fourth and David Ogden of Old Town in fifth. Kevin Seekins of Frankfort finished sixth, followed by Richard Seekins of Frankfort in seventh and Scott Bonney of Bangor in eighth. Libby was the winner of the Bomber qualifier.

Sport-Four driver Bradley Norris of Ellsworth was presented the Mainely Motorsports TV Driver of the Month award for the month of July, 2011 during intermission activities on the front stretch. Also recognized during the break was the Yardsmith Landscape Company for their contribution to the John Phippen Memorial race on July 21.

Maine Racing Forumhttp://maineracing.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=89

Keep your computer files backed up and safe try Mozy.com for free – https://secure.mozy.com/?ref=NWH4DL