Canaan, NH – Joey Roberts of Georgia, Vermont picked up his first career Bond/WIX Tiger Tour win at Canaan Fair Speedway on Saturday, August 20. Roberts started on the outside pole and settled in behind pole sitter Joe Steffen for the first 22 circuits. Roberts managed to take the lead on the restart following the first caution of the 100 lap event.

Steffen would challenge Roberts until suffering a flat tire coming to the green on the second restart of the race on lap 47. Steffen would lose three laps in the pits while changing the tire. Current point leader Derrick O’Donnell would take over second and stuck with Roberts over the second half of the event. Roberts had his hands full trying to hold off O’Donnell who at one point got around Roberts and led on lap 49.

O’Donnell had to settle for second, followed by 2010 Bond/WIX Tiger Tour Champion Jason Bonnett, Troy Gray and Eric Badore in the top five. Mike Ziter, Mike Martin, Dylan Payea, George May and Tucker Williams rounded out the top ten.

The 100 lap event was completed in just over 57 minutes. Fourteen of the 21 cars completed all 100 laps with 17 cars on the track for the checkered flag.

The Bond/WIX Tiger Tour will head to Riverside Speedway in Groveton, New Hampshire on Saturday, September 17 for the fourth event in their five race season.

Bond/WIX Tiger Tour 100 Unofficial Results
Canaan Fair Speedway – Canaan, NH
Saturday, August 20, 2011
Pos. (Start) Driver, Hometown, Laps Completed

1. (2) Joey Roberts, Georgia, VT, 100 Laps

2. (3) Derrick O’Donnell, Bradford, VT, 100 Laps

3. (9) Jason Bonnett, St. Albans, VT, 100 Laps

4. (12) Troy Gray, Fairlee, VT, 100 Laps

5. (8) Eric Badore, Milton, VT, 100 Laps

6. (5) Mike Ziter, Williamstown, VT, 100 Laps

7. (4) Mike Martin, Craftsbury Common, VT, 100 Laps

8. (21) Dylan Payea, Henniker, NH, 100 Laps

9. (17) George May, Barre, VT, 100 Laps

10. (10) Tucker Williams, Hyde Park, VT, 100 Laps

11. (14) Josh Demers, Middlesex, VT, 100 Laps

12. (15) Jeff Wimble, Waterbury, VT, 100 Laps

13. (11) Jason Corliss, Danville, VT, 100 Laps

14. (16) Tim Churchill, Lincoln, NH, 100 Laps

15. (1) Joe Steffen, Grand Isle, VT, 97 Laps

16. (13) Scott Coburn, S. Barre, VT, 97 Laps

17. (19) Mark Barnier, Essex Jct., VT, 83 Laps

18. (7) Bobby Therrien, Hinesburg, VT, 50 Laps

19. (18) David Finck, Barre, VT, 47 Laps

20. (20) Brian Gosselin, Bethlehem, NH, 46 Laps

21. (6) Christopher Pelkey, S. Barre, VT, 33 Laps

Time of Race: 57:03

Margin of Victory: .403 seconds

Cautions: 5 (Laps 22, 47, 50, 58, 81)

Leaders: Joe Steffen, 1-22; Joey Roberts, 23-48; Derrick O’Donnell, 49; Roberts, 50-100.