Lee, NH – Another full night of NASCAR Whelen All-American Series weekly action went into the record books at Lee USA Speedway on Friday night, including the annual running of the 50-lap Lance Davis Memorial for the Prime Storage Late Model Sportsmen.

Kayla Cazares was first to lead the extra-distance affair, setting the pace for the first six circuits before giving up the top spot to Timmy Johnson. Johnson’s time out front was short, as Bobby Melvin nosed ahead of him just nine laps later, but Melvin’s was even shorter.

As quickly as Melvin got past Johnson on lap 15, J.R. Baril got past both and took command, immediately pulling away from the field. Over the next 25 laps, Baril took off to a full straightaway lead, but a lap 40 caution eventually erased his huge advantage.

Baril easily survived the restart, and went on to lead the final ten laps to score the victory. Members of the Davis family joined Baril for the victory lane ceremony, with Bobby Melvin and Tony Kawejsza presented for second and third.

Ryan Green collected a fine fourth place finish, with former Hobby Stock champion Todd Bregy, Peter Cook, Brian Grantz, Michele Fushpanski, Johnson, and Cazares the rest of the top ten.

Matt Seavey set the pace for the first 11 laps of the Benson Lumber and Hardware Small Block Supermodified feature event, at which point the race was red flagged due to a multi-car incident that blocked the track between turns three and four.

Mike Ordway, Jr. got a great restart when the race went back to green, and he snagged the lead on lap 12. Another quick caution re-aligned the field two laps later, and this time it was Wayne Helliwell, Jr. running the high groove to the lead.

From there on, it was all Helliwell, as he piloted the Witkum Brothers Racing entry to its second win of the season. Ordway held on for runner-up honors, with “Super Dave” Sanborn filling out the podium in the third spot.

Sparky MacIver put in a solid run to score fourth, followed by Seavey, Matt Riley, Bryan Kruczek, Tommy Tombarello, Jr., Jim Barker, Butch Valley, Jr., Mike Netishen, Tony Carroll, Mike Murphy, Leslie Keyser, and Ben Tinker (dns).

Patrick Tanguay was the man to beat in the David’s Race Cars and Components Hobby Stocks, busting out to the lead with Mike Williams hot on his heels. Tanguay held Williams at bay for the first 20 caution-free laps, but that changed in a hurry.

Lap 21 saw caution on the field after the leaders got tangled up coming out of turn four, and Tanguay spun to a stop with some front-end damage and some ground to make up. Williams led the balance of the event to pick up his second win of the year, with points leader Mark Parenteau and Brian Thompson taking second and third.

Steve Dubois wound up in the fourth spot, with Tanguay rebounding for fifth followed by Sean Nordin, Jim Piaseczny, Brian DeStefano, Jim Shorey, and Steve Douphinette.

Troy Washburn broke Kyle Roy’s recent stranglehold on RE/MAX Ironman victory lane, holding off the winner of the past five straight races to collect the win. Washburn did a great job holding on for the victory, beating Roy by a fender for the winner’s trophy.

Jake Rheaume finished in the third spot followed by early-race leader Danielle Simoneau, who set the pace for most of the first half of the race, and Evan Horvath, still looking for his first podium of the season.

The Northeast Classic Lites were on hand for the second straight week, and they once again put on an entertaining race for the fans. Russ Bryant took down a hard-fought win this time out, beating out Eddie Gilman to take top honors.

This Friday, August 19th Lee USA Speedway will be hosting the Ollie Silva Memorial ISMA Super Modified Classic along with the Small Block Supers, Hobby Stocks plus the NEMA Lites. Please the office for information at 978-462-4252 or go to our web site at www.leeusaspeedway.com.