Unity, Maine – Josh St. Clair of Liberty certainly remembered the quick way around Unity Raceway, returning after a couple of months racing at other venues and driving to an impressive victory in the 35-lap Late Model feature race Saturday night.

St. Clair started behind all of the hotshoes and previous winners and methodically worked his way through the field before engaging rookie driver Ben Clark of Clinton in a thrilling duel for several laps before driving away toward victory lane.

Clark, a former frontrunner in the Late Model Pro Four class, turned in his best run aboard a Late Model, claiming runner-up honors. Points leader David Folsom I of Skowhegan helped his title hopes with a third-place finish, one spot better than his chief rival for the track title, Jeff Burgess of East Madison. Will Collins overcame clutch woes earlier in the evening to claim the final top-five finishing position. St. Clair and Clark won heat races.

The Wildcat 25-lap main event was in doubt right up until the checkered flag waved, and when it was over it was Chelsea’s Maurice Young in victory lane. Young prevailed in a race-long battle with reigning division champion Chris King of Burnham, who raced alongside the winner for several alps before settling for runner-up honors. Ed Sleeper of Vassalboro claimed third-place hardware, in front of Kris Matchett and Ed Gilblair, both from Skowhegan. Matchett, who had destroyed his own car a week earlier, was driving a car normally wheeled by Smithfield’s Mike Moore. Carl McAlpine won the heat race and was racing with the leaders in the main event when mechanical woes sidelined him.

Bill Ellis of Parkman was a popular first-time winner in the Late Model Pro Four feature race, driving away from the competition and leaving his rivals in the dust to fight for runner-up honors. Benton’s Lance Chapman was the best of the rest, reclaiming the points lead in the division just three days after becoming a new father. Skowhegan’s Bryan Lancaster rounded out the podium, with Clinton’s Tim Robinson and previous week’s winner Steve Rackliff of Starks rounding out the top five. Rackliff won the heat race.

Skowhegan racers Mike Mason and Zach Audet raced away from the Monster Mini field to decide that race amongst themselves for the second straight week, with Mason edging out points leader Audet, as they’d finished last time out. Hudson’s Richard Jackson rebounded from an early spin to finish in third position, with Tim Robinson of Clinton and Chelsea’s Mike Wilson completing the top five. Mason won the heat race.

Jayson Bosworth of Cornville drove to another convincing win in the Flyin’ 4 feature event, outrunning points leader Kyle Robinson of Clinton to the checkered flag. Mika Wilson of Chelsea battled to a third-place finish, with Clinton’s Cole Robinson and Nate Tribbett of Pittston fourth and fifth in the final rundown. Bosworth won the heat race.

Chad Dow still has lost only once in six-cylinder Challenger competition, but this week the outcome was in doubt almost until the checkered flag as he chased down fellow Skowhegan racer Cody Williamson to take the lead with just one lap to go. Williamson finish a close second, with Waterville’s Mike Stowe third under the checkered flag. Samantha Farnham of Benton was fourth, followed by Clinton’s Louie Stillman. Eric Peacey of Clinton and Folsom won heat races.

Norridgewock’s Austin Clemons won his fourth straight Teen Thunder main event in convincing fashion, extending his lead in the championship standings. Colby Robbins matched his best finish with a second-place run, with Emily McAlpine finishing third, moving up to second position in the season-long title battle. Derek Pariseau of Brooks and Burnham’s April McAlpine rounded out the top five. Clemons won the heat race.

John McCarron of Newport cruised to victory in the four-cylinder enduro race by a healthy margin. Norridgewock’s Christie Foster made a last-lap move that was good enough to net a second-place finish. Josh Switzer of Woonsocket, Rhode Island was third, followed by Kersey Santos of Waterville and Josh Spencer.

Racing action resumes Saturday night (August 20) at Unity Raceway with kid’s bike races at intermission highlighting a full card of weekly racing series competition. For more information call (207) 453-2021 or visit unityraceway.info

Late Model (35 laps): 1. 33 Josh St. Clair, Liberty; 2. 21 Ben Clark, Clinton; 3. 3. 15 David Folsom I, Skowhegan; 4. X Jeff Burgess, East Madison; 5. 25 Will Collins, Waldoboro; 6. 04x Chad Dow, Fairfield; 7. 09 Ed Drake, Vassalboro; 8. 3 John Rideout, Washington; 9. 9 Dylan Turner, Freedom; 10. 88 Puncin St. Clair, Liberty; 11. 51 Craig Robbins, Montville; 12. 7 Brian Gullifer, Farmington; 13. 34 Tyler Robbins, Montville; 14. 75 David Folsom II, Skowhegan; 15. 11 Ryan St. Clair, Liberty; 16. 12 Seth Raven, Waldo.

Keystone Automotive Industries Wildcat (25 laps): 1. 03 Maurice Young, Chelsea; 2. 29 Chris King, Burnham; 3. 22 Ed Sleeper, Vassalboro; 4. 82 Kris Matchett, Skowhegan; 5. 24 Ed Gilblair, Skowhegan; 6. 20 Joe Harriman, Pittston; 7. 33 Dan Trask, Chelsea; 8. 18 Carl McAlpine, Burnham; DNS 14 Craig Robbins, Montville.

Late Model Pro Four (20 laps): 1. Bill Ellis, Parkman; 2. 64 Lance Chapman, Benton; 3. 81 Bryan Lancaster, Skowhegan; 4. 23 Tim Robinson, Clinton; 5. 94 Steve Rackliff, Starks; 6. 26 Norm Cummings, Jr., Augusta.

Monster Mini (20 laps): 1. 51 Mike Mason, Skowhegan; 2. 19 Zach Audet, Skowhegan; 3. 53 Richard Jackson, Hudson; 4. 23 Tim Robinson, Clinton; 5. 92 Mike Wilson, Chelsea; 6. 15 Brad Bosworth, Cornville; 7. 1 Dylan Lancaster, Skowhegan; 8. 26 Brent Roy, Vassalboro; 9. 2 Greg Cummings, Augusta.

Flyin’ 4 (20 laps): 1. 51 Jayson Bosworth, Cornville; 2. 62 Kyle Robinson, Clinton; 3. 94 Mika Wilson, Chelsea; 4. 61 Cole Robinson, Clinton; 5. 04 Nate Tribbett, Pittston; 6. 54 Donald Giggey, Athens; 7. 24 Shadow Folsom, Skowhegan; 8. 22x Bob Gerard, Augusta; 9. 15 Brad Bosworth, Cornville.

Challenger (20 laps): 1. 15 Chad Folsom, Skowhegan; 2. 13 Cody Williamson, Skowhegan; 3. 45 Mike Stowe, Waterville; 4. 96 Samantha Farnham, Benton; 5. ? Louie Stillman, Clinton; 6. 84 Ken Lord, Waterville; 7. 41 Dan Lambert, Waterville; 8. 45x Nick Jackson, Waterville; 9. 88 Henry Boudreau, Bristol; 10. 7 Troy Rusconi, Clinton; 11. 44 Eric Peavey, Clinton.

Teen Thunder (15 laps): 1. 21 Austin Clemons, Norridgewock; 2. 15 Colby Robbins, Montville; 3. 18 Emily McAlpine, Burnham; 4. 34 Derek Pariseau, Brooks; 5. 11 April McAlpine, Burnham; 6. 88 Wesley Turner, Montville.

Enduro (20 laps): 1. 18 John McCarron, Newport; 2. 19 Christie Foster, Norridgewock; 3. 95 Josh Switzer, Woonsocket, RI; 4. 35 Kersey Santos, Waterville; 5. Josh Spencer; 6. 63 George Fernald III, Benton; 7. 0 Kyle Turner, Freedom; 8. 1 Derek Berry, Clinton.