The North East Mini Stock Tour joined the fastest minis in the region for the 2nd annual Mini Stock Shootout at Thompson International Speedway Thursday night. The tour minis would compete in their own 20 lap points race as well as with the Thompson minis in a 20 lap shootout event.

Twelve NEMST prepared vehicles rolled into the pit area in the sweltering heat for the midweek event. Practice difficulties halted the movement of the 60 and 53 vehicles leaving a ten car field for the Northern style mini stocks.

The front wheel drives proved to be a force to reckon with in the early stages of events for the Mustang dominated touring series. Texas Roadhouse representatives were walking through the pit area and grandstands passing out plenty of free TRH gear and meal passes. As the evening rolled around it was time for the minis to take to the track.

In the heat race Loren Smith showed that his VW Scirocco could hang on the largest short track in the northeast and set himself up for a front row starting position. The outside invader of Mark Panaroni who had a strong run in his first NEMST at Waterford speedbowl one month prior, was showing some definite speed as well. NEMST longtime Standout also had an incredible run in the heat.

The third feature of the night belonged to the NEMST and 20 lap feature was underway with Cristofer King and Loren Smith leading the charge. Loren Smith took over the early lead and held on while the rest of the field sliced and diced their way around. Smith was overtaken by the outsider Mark Panaroni on lap 14. The NEMST event went caution free with Panaroni hanging on for the win in only his 2nd NEMST start. Smith held on for second with Cayer, Ducharme, and King rounding out the top 5.

The NEMST will be back in action on Saturday August 13th at the ΒΌ mile high bank sof Monadnock Speedway in Winchester, NH. Please visit for all up todate race information.

Feature Results

1. 51 Mark Panaroni
2. 41 Loren Smith
3. 88 Emerson Cayer
4. 43 Roger Ducharme
5. 38 Cristofer King
6. 52 Sean Caron
7. 2 Rob Greenleaf
8. 8 Calvin Rose
9. 4 Rob Gioia
10. 69 Louis Maher