ACT Tour RacingGroveton, NH – Bradford, VT’s Derrick O’Donnell strengthened his ACT Bond/WIX Tiger Tour point lead with a win in the Johnny Clark Memorial 101 at Riverside Speedway in Groveton, NH on Saturday, September 17. O’Donnell came from the eighth starting position and took the lead after Joe Steffen suffered a flat tire on the final restart of the event.

Steffen lead early before giving up the lead to Bobby Therrien on the first restart of the event. Therrien would lead the next seven laps before pitting during the second caution of the day handing the lead back to Steffen. Steffen held the lead until a flat tire while coming to the green during the final restart.

O’Donnell outran runner-up finisher Tony Rossi over the final thirty-seven lap green flag run. Brendan Moodie, Eric Badore and Therrien came to the checkers three-wide in a battle for third. Moodie edged a sideways Badore by a bumper cover at the line while Therrien settled for fifth. Joey Roberts, defending Tiger Tour champion Jason Bonnett, Tucker Williams, rookie Dylan Payea and Steffen completed the top ten.

O’Donnell notched his second win in the four events to date on the Bond/WIX Tiger Tour this season. He won the season opener at Thunder Road in May. After back-to-back second place finishes at White Mountain Motorsports Park and Canaan Fair Speedway, he returned to victory lane.

The 101 lap event saw just three cautions and was completed in just over thirty nine minutes. Twenty-one cars took the green flag with nineteen on the track at the finish. Twelve of which were on the lead lap. Twenty-two cars were on hand for the event, but Randy Gonyaw couldn’t make the start due to radiator problems.

The Bond/WIX Tiger Tour will crown its 2011 champion following the fifth and final event of the season, which will be held at Airborne Speedway in Plattsburgh, NY on Saturday, October 8.

Johnny Clark Memorial 101 Unofficial Results
Bond/WIX Tiger Tour
Riverside Speedway – Groveton, NH
Saturday, September 17, 2011

Pos. (Start) Driver, Hometown, Laps Completed
1. (8) Derrick O’Donnell, Bradford, VT, 101 Laps
2. (7) Tony Rossi, Peacham, VT, 101 Laps
3. (3) Brendan Moodie, Wolcott, VT, 101 Laps
4. (5) Shawn Fleury, Middlesex, VT, 101 Laps
5. (4) Bobby Therrien, Hinesburg, VT, 101 Laps
6. (16) Joey Roberts, Georgia, VT, 101 Laps
7. (11) Jason Bonnett, St. Albans, VT, 101 Laps
8. (18) Tucker Williams, Hyde Park, VT, 101 Laps
9. (12) Dylan Payea, Henniker, NH, 101 Laps
10. (1) Joe Steffen, Grand Isle, VT, 101 Laps
11. (6) Mike Ziter, Williamstown, VT, 101 Laps
12. (15) Josh Demers, Middlesex, VT, 101 Laps
13. (14) Christopher Pelkey, S. Barre, VT, 100 Laps
14. (2) Mike Martin, Craftsbury Common, VT, 100 Laps
15. (10) Mike Billado, Essex, VT, 100 Laps
16. (21) Scott Coburn, S. Barre, VT, 99 Laps
17. (17) Jeff Wimble, Waterbury, VT, 99 Laps
18. (20) David Finck, Barre, VT, 99 Laps
19. (19) Mark Barnier, Essex Jct., VT, 99 Laps
20. (9) Brian Gosselin, Bethlehem, NH, 96 Laps
21. (13) Troy Gray, Fairlee, VT, 31 Laps

Time of Race: 39:33
Cautions: 3 (Laps 43, 50, 64)
Leaders: Joe Steffen, 1-42; Bobby Therrien, 43-49; Steffen, 50-63; Derrick O’Donnell, 64-101.