PASS Racing
Johnny Clark claims his sixth PASS North title


Oxford ME (10/15) Scott Mulkern roared from the back of a 34 car field to claim the lead and the win in Saturday’s Pro All Stars Series (PASS) North 150 at Oxford (ME) Plains Speedway. Travis Benjamin led much of the way but had to settle for the runner up spot, and DJ Shaw raced home third in the PASS North season finale, cut short at lap 118 due to rain.

Joey Pole and Brian Hoar led the field to the green and Pole jumped out front early. Hoar took over from laps 29 through 70 but Benjamin was rumbling up through the field and he wrestled the lead away from Hoar on lap 70.

At the half way mark it was Benjamin, Hoar, Joey Doiron, Shaw and Mulkern in the top five and it was clear that Mulkern was on a mission, gaining 20 spots in the first 75 laps. He was racing second by lap 100 and out front on lap 102 but Benjamin battled back, reclaiming the lead until Mulkern made his way past Benjamin on the bottom for good on lap 112. The showers came six laps later and despite every effort to get the race back under way, the persistent rains forced series officials to call it a race on lap 118.

25 of the 34 starters were scored on the lead lap; six minor cautions slowed the action. Mulkern’s margin of victory was .816 seconds.

41 teams attempted to make the 34 car starting field. DJ Shaw, Brian Hoar, and Joey Pole won the qualifiers; Mulkern won the consolation round.

Johnny Clark raced home fourth to cap off a remarkable season that saw the defending series champ earn 7 wins and 13 to five finishes in fourteen starts. The result was more than enough to give Clark and his team a sixth PASS North title, his fourth in a row. Lonnie Sommerville overcame a qualifying race parts failure to finish seventh,enough to earn second in the standings and Ben Rowe’s twelfth place run kept the four time PASS North champion third in the final tally.

PASS North will celebrate the 2011 season on Friday evening, November 4 at the Howard Johnson’s Convention Center in Portland Maine. All the details can be found at .

Unofficial order of finish: PASS super late model 150 – Oxford Plains Speedway – Oxford ME -10/15

1 84 Scott Mulkern Falmouth ME 2 17 Travis Benjamin Morrill ME 3 60 DJ Shaw Center Conway NH 4 54 Johnny Clark Farmingdale ME 5 37VT Brian Hoar Georgia VT 6 29 Trevor Sanborn Parsonsfield ME 7 48 Lonnie Sommerville New Brunswick CA 8 97 Joey Polewarczyk Hudson NH 9 61 Andy Shaw Center Conway NH 10 73 Joey Doiron Berwick ME 11 28 Kirk Thibeau Ft. Fairfield ME 12 4 Ben Rowe Turner ME 13 33 Mike Rowe Turner ME 14 77 Cassius Clark Farmington ME 15 7 Donnie Whitten Wells ME 16 75 Gary Smith Bangor ME 17 17A Scott Alexander Orrington ME 18 10 Scott Dragon Colchester VT 19 26NH John Donahue Vermont 20 53W Alan Wilson Hebron ME 21 4B Brad Babb Windham ME 22 80 Dustin Hubbard Unity ME 23 22 Aaron Ricker Tamworth NH 24 47 Kelly Moore Scarborough ME 25 15 Chris Wilk 26 7G Curtis Gerry Limerick ME 27 Kyle DeSouza E. Providence RI 28 88T Alan Tardiff Lyman ME 29 20 Mike Landry Oakland ME 30 27QC Alex Gingras Quebec City QC 31 2 Matt Matheson Geary N.B. CA 32 12 John Dabrowski W. Bridgewater MA 33 7L Glen Luce Turner ME 34 20x Corey Walker