Canaan, N.H. – -Two traditional race events, popular with fans and competitors alike, will determine the 2011 Valenti Modified Racing Series championship.

As in past years, the run to the title could be claimed this weekend, Oct 8 and 9, at Seekonk Speedway. Seekonk, MA., at the annual “DAV Fall Classic,” or Oct 22, and 23 at New Hampshire’s Lee USA Speedway as part of that track’s 25th annual “Oktoberfest” weekend.

Chris Pasteryak, of Lisbon, CT., takes a 30-point lead to Seekonk over Les Hinckley, of Windsor Lock’s CT.
Pasteryak won the series title in 2008. Hinckley still seeks his VMRS championship.

Both drivers, second-generation racers, have visited victory lane at Seekonk. Hinckley won the inaugural event in 2004 and notched a 100-lap race there last month. Pasteryak won the 2008 “Fall Classic” on his way to his first Series Championship.

Pasteryak has visited victory lane three times this season and Hinckley twice.

Both race tracks have produced great storylines over the years but none tops the competition.

The two season-ending events combined have produced 13 different winners in 13 races.

Long known for great-modified racing and close competition, Seekonk fans have seen seven different drivers in seven races win the “Fall Classic”

After Hinckley’s inaugural win, Andy Seuss, at age 18, took down the honors in 2005. Local favorite’s Dave Berghman and Vinnie Annarummo won in 2006 & 2007, New England legend Mike Stefanik in 2009, and Jon McKennedy last year.

As for Lee, the 3/8-mile oval takes great pride in hosting the season finale. Winning at Lee does not come easy however in six races, six winners.

A teary-eyed Jimmy Dolan won his first in 2005; Hinckley took top honors in 2006, Seuss won in 2007, McKennedy in 2008, Kenny Barry in 2009, and Steven Masse in 2010.

“The day Dwight Jarvis won the title in 2006 will always be remembered,” recalled track manager Bob Watson.” We are proud to host the last race and to have the title decided here is very special.”

A strong field of entries is expected for the 100-lap green-flag race at Seekonk this weekend.

Defending series champion Jon McKennedy, of E.Chelmsford, MA., has indicated he plans to be defend his victory last fall at the historic oval.

2006 DAV winner Dave Berghman, of Seekonk, is expected.

Dwight Jarvis, of Ascutney, VT., and three-time series champion Kirk Alexander, Swanzey, NH., are confirmed entries.

Rowan Pennink, Huntingdon Valley, PA., Mike Holdridge, Madison, CT., and Norm Wrenn, Nashua, NH., are expected.

Qualifying takes place on Saturday with feature races on Sunday At 1:00 PM. More information at