Maine Racer Now All-Time Wins Leader in the South Super Late Model Series

The Pro All Stars Series (PASS) South headed back to the famed Hickory Motor Speedway (NC) on Saturday, October 29th, for the Over the Mountain 150 Super Late Model event, the second to last race of the 2011 season. Despite not being in the championship hunt, Maine racer Ben Rowe survived the event, claiming the win and earning the honors of the all-time wins leader in the South Super Late Model series.

With over 40 cars on hand, just qualifying into the event was a premium for most racers. Taking fast time was Alex Fleming with a 14.807-second lap. He was followed by Andy Loden, Kyle Grissom, Bradley McCaskill and Rebecca Kasten. The balance of the field was determined by qualifying times and a last-chance qualifier to fill the 28-car field.

After the top-10 redraw, Grissom led the field down to the green flag with Jared Marks alongside. Grissom led the early laps with Marks, Loden, Kevin Floars and McCaskill in tow. The first yellow flew early at lap 13 after Roger Lee Newton, who won earlier this year at Orange County Speedway (NC), broke a rear end on his car.

On the restart, Grissom and Loden battled side by side for the lead for a few circuits until Loden put his machine out front. While Loden held the top spot, positions jockeyed behind him within the top 10. Kasten was able to work her way to the second position, then on lap 41, she made her move, taking the lead before the yellow flew a second time at lap 44, which involved Dean Clattenburg and John Batten. At the yellow, Kasten led Loden, Cling, Marks and Preston Peltier.

On the following restart, a chain reaction forced another yellow, which involved many drivers, including championship points leader Jay Fogleman, Jimmy Weller, Steven Legendre, Gray Gaulding, Logan Ruffin, Daniel Hemric and others. Some cars were able to continue while others were done with heavy damage.

Loden was able to get the lead on the restart, but Kasten drove back by for the lead at lap 50, bringing Cling and Peltier by Loden for position on the track. Over the next 25 laps, Kasten paced the field while drivers looked to improve their position.

At lap 75, Marks slowed on the track, bringing out the yellow flag. Loden pitted during the yellow with a soft tire, putting him at the back of the field.

Peltier and Kasten traded the lead throughout several green-flag laps and cautions while Rowe, who started in the 12th position, slowly worked his way to the top five. With Peltier out front and pulling away in the final third of the event, Kasten dropped back a few positions and ended up spinning out after contact with Ryan Blaney, who was second in points entering the event, bringing out the yellow at lap 117. Blaney later had a broken axle, which cost him multiple laps to the leaders, finishing outside the top 10.

As Peltier and Trey Mitchell were lining up for the restart, contact between the two caused Mitchell to head to pit road and Peltier to drop back when the green flew, eventually spinning out with a flat tire. Rowe was then the leader with Cling and Jody Lavender in the top-three positions with 25 laps remaining.

Despite a few more yellow flags, Rowe was able to hold on to the top spot to win the event. Loden was able to work his way back to the second position after pitting earlier in the race for a tire issue while Cling crossed the line in third. Hemric ended up fourth with Heath Hindman rounding out the top five.

Rowe, who is already the current career wins leader in the PASS North Super Late Model Series, took over the honors in the South with the victory, his seventh-career PASS South win.

The PASS South Super Late Model Series will be back in action for the Mason Dixon/Thanksgiving Classic at Concord Speedway (NC) November 25th and 26th, 2011, where the PASS South and PASS National championships will be determined.

For more information on the Pro All Stars Series, go to

Unofficial Results – PASS South Over the Mountain 150

1. Ben Rowe (4n) 150 , started 12th
2. Andy Loden (29) 150 , started 4th
3. Landon Cling (29c) 150 , started 7th
4. Daniel Hemric (98) 150 , started 22nd
5. Heath Hindman (91) 150 , started 16th
6. Becca Kasten (51k) 150 , started 10th
7. Alex Fleming (05) 150 , started 5th
8. Scott Saunders (49) 150 , started 15th
9. Brandon Ward (115) 150 , started 14th
10. Trevor Edwards (101) 149 , started 13th
11. Kevin Floars (55) 147 , started 3rd
12. Jay Fogleman (4) 147 , started 11th
13. Ryan Blaney (10) 144 , started 21st
14. Jimmy Weller (23) 136 , started 25th
15. Bradley McCaskill (18) 136 , started 6th
16. Brandon Lynn (76) 136 , started 20th
17. Logan Ruffin (8) 120 , started 26th
18. Trey Mitchell (47) 120 , started 9th
19. Preston Peltier (26) 119 , started 18th
20. Kyle Grissom (07) 117 , started 1st
21. Dean Clattenburg (09) 104 , started 8th
22. Jordan Anderson (19) 96 , started 23rd
23. Jared Marks (12) 74 , started 2nd
24. Gray Gaulding (2) 64 , started 27th
25. Steven Legendre (20) 44 , started 24th
26. John Batten (48) 43 , started 28th
27. Ryan Moore (74) 29 , started 17th
28. Roger Lee Newton (33) 12 , started 19th