Super Speedway in 2006.

Waterbury, VT – For the first time in six years and just the second time in over a decade, the ACT Late Model Tour will return to where it all began, Sanair Super Speedway in St-Pie, Quebec, during the 2012 season. On Saturday, August 11, the ACT Late Model Tour and the Série ACT Castrol will visit the 1.3-kilometer speedway for a 100 lap combination event.

The ACT Late Model Tour held its first ever event on April 26, 1992 when they joined the headlining ACT Pro Stock Tour at Sanair Super Speedway. Norm Andrews of Warren, VT claimed the Late Model win in their 25 lap event before three-time ACT Champion Junior Hanley of Oakville, Ontario earned his sixth career Sanair win in the 150 lap Pro Stock event.

The Late Model Tour has visited the Super Speedway just six times in its 20 seasons to date, with the most recent event in 2006. Ben Rowe of Turner, ME claimed the 2006 ACT Super Series win and a $10,000 paycheck after claiming the win in the three segment 150 lap special event. Eight-time ACT Champion Brian Hoar has two Sanair victories, both in 1993, while Steve Miller and Joey Laquerre complete the list of ACT Late Model winners at Sanair. Vermont Lt. Governor Phil Scott is the only competitor to start all six Sanair ACT Late Model events to date.

Veteran ACT competitor Joey Polewarczyk, Jr. said, “It doesn’t seem possible that it was six years ago, during my rookie season, that we raced at Sanair. I really loved the speed and the design of the track didn’t bother me. I guess I was too young to worry about the tri-oval, the long front stretch, and the combination of braking and long periods of full throttle that Sanair demands.”

The NASCAR North Tour visited Sanair Super Speedway for the first time in 1983 after previously competing at the 1/3-mile Sanair International Raceway from 1979 to 1982. Beaver Dragon of Milton, VT claimed that first win in 1983. The North Tour, which became the ACT Pro Stock Tour in 1986, tackled the Sanair tri-oval 24 times from 1983 until the final event, won by Mike Rowe of Turner, ME in 1994. Others claiming Pro Stock Tour wins at the Super Speedway include Claude Leclerc, Bobby Dragon, Robbie Crouch, Chuck Bown, Russ Urlin, Rollie MacDonald, Randy LaJoie, and Butch Miller.

“The very fast and tricky Sanair tri-oval was a favorite of the old ACT Pro Stock teams. I remember how excited we were to open the ‘big new track’ in the region back in 1983. It was the year after we had our inaugural event at Dover Downs, and I think the Dover experience helped our opening at Sanair back then. Now that the Late Models have three years of experience racing at the New Hampshire Motor Speedway ‘Magic Mile’, my hope is that the combined group of US and Canadian ACT Late Model teams will have a lot more confidence going into the Sanair event this summer. It should be a great race,” said Tom Curley, President of the American Canadian Tour.

The management of Circuit Riverside Speedway in Ste-Croix, Quebec has taken on the responsibility of upgrading the Speedway’s concessions, grandstands and other improvements in preparation for the 100 lap ACT event on Saturday, August 11.

The 2012 ACT season opening New Hampshire Governor’s Cup at Lee USA Speedway in Lee, NH will be on Sunday, April 15.