Barre, VT – Eight-time and defending ACT Champion Brian Hoar, of Williston VT, rode a hot streak on his way to his second win in a row on the ACT Tour in the Merchants Bank 150 on Sunday, April 29 at Thunder Road. Hoar fought off former Lee USA Champion Wayne Helliwell Jr, of Dover NH, and two-time Serie ACT Castrol Champion Patrick Laperle of St. Denis, QC for his first ever Merchants Bank 150 win.

Hoar started from the second position, after a +6 plus minus out of his heat, and stole the lead from Thunder Road defending Champion Dave Pembroke on lap 21. Hoar paced the field for 19 laps only to lose the lead to seven-time ACT Champion Jean Paul Cyr on lap 40. Cyr took the lead and looked unstoppable for 79 laps, slicing and dicing through lap traffic, until lap 109 caution in which he pitted after the other leaders to take tires. Helliwell Jr, and two-time Merchants Bank 150 Champ Nick Sweet battled it out before Sweet headed down pit road on a lap 116 caution, leaving Hoar, Laperle, and Helliwell to fight for the win.

Helliwell gave everything he had trying to pick up his first ACT tour win, nose to tail between two former ACT champs for the last 10 laps. Hoar survived an assault of moves from Helliwell, even recovering from being sideways out of turn four with two laps to go. Laperle stormed from the 19th starting position, but had to turn his focus on a late race charge for third from John Donahue of Graniteville, VT who finished fourth. Jean Paul Cyr rebounded from his tire stop to round out the top five.

The race was completed in 1:13:55 but was slowed by 6 cautions and a red flag for a multi-car wreck on lap 70. Many cars were involved including 2011 ACT Rookie of the Year Ben Ashline, multi-time Thunder Road Champion Cris Michaud, Ben Rowe, Randy Potter, Glen Luce, Cody Blake, Quinny Welch, Jamie Aube, and Brent Dragon. The multi-car incident started with Michaud bouncing off the widowmaker and collecting the remainder of the group at the entrance of pit road.

Hoar had already qualified for the Bond Auto ACT Invitational on Saturday, September 22 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway, with his win in the season opener at Lee USA Speedway two weeks ago. 47 ACT Late models attempted to qualify for the 30 car field. 23 cars finished on the lead lap.

Blair Bassett of Worcester, VT claimed an emotional first ever Bond Auto Tiger Sportsman win, fending off Scott Coburn, Chris Pelkey, 2011 Rookie of the Year Kyle Pembroke, and Joe Steffen. Rounding out the top ten was Mike Martin, Dylan Payea, George May, Josh Demers, and Matt Potter.

All-time Street Stock win leader Tommy Thunder added another to the list picking up his 23rd win in dominating fashion in the Allen Lumber Street Stock division. He was chased to the line by Garry Bashaw, Bunker Hodgdon, Jason Kenison, and Daniel Lathrop. Completing the top ten was Dean Switser, Ben Belanger, Nick Pilotte, David Whitcomb, and Danny Doyle.

Thunder Road is off until Memorial Day for the 50th RV Mekkelsen Memorial Day Classic on Sunday, May 27. The American Canadian Tour Late Models head to Devil’s Bowl Speedway in West Haven, VT for 101.5 The Fox Spring Green 112 next Sunday, May 6 with a 2pm post time.

Merchants Bank 150

American Canadian Tour

Thunder Road International Speedbowl

Sunday, April 29, 2012

Pos. (Start) Driver, Hometown – Lap

1. (2) Brian Hoar, Williston, VT – 150 Laps

2. (9) Wayne Helliwell Jr., Dover, NH -150 Laps

3. (19) Patrick Laperle, St-Denis, QC – 150 Laps

4. (5) John Donahue, Graniteville, VT -150 Laps

5. (8) Jean-Paul Cyr, Milton, VT – 150 Laps

6. (27) Trampas Demers, South Burlington, VT – 150 Laps

7. (15) Luke Hinkley, Claremont, NH – 150 Laps

8. (4) Brooks Clark, Fayston, VT – 150 Laps

9. (23) Austin Theriault, Fort Kent, ME – 150 Laps

10. (3) Nick Sweet, Barre, VT – 150 Laps

11. (10) Scott Payea, Milton, VT – 150 Laps

12. (13) Brett Wheeler, Waterbury, VT – 150 Laps

13. (7) Joey Polewarczyk Jr., Hudson, NH – 150 Laps

14. (1) Dave Pembroke, Middlesex, VT – 150 Laps

15. (18) Ricky Rolfe, Albany Twp, ME – 150 Laps

16. (29) Jamie Fisher, Shelburne, VT – 150 Laps

17. (25) Rowland Robinson, Jr., Birch Harbor, ME – 150 Laps

18. (6) Mark Lamberton, Mooers Forks, NY – 150 Laps

19. (20) Jamie Aube, No. Ferrisburg, VT – 150 Laps

20. (14) Glen Luce, Turner, ME – 150 Laps

21. (24) Brent Dragon, Milton, VT – 149 Laps

22. (17) Travis Fadden, North Haverhill, NH – 149 Laps

23. (11) Cris Michaud, E. Montpelier, VT – 148 Laps

24. (30) Eric Chase, Milton, VT – 148 Laps

25. (22) Phil Scott, Berlin, VT – 128 Laps

26. (26) Quinten, Welch Lancaster, NH – 70 Laps

27. (28) Cody Blake, Barre, VT – 70 Laps

28. (16) Randy Potter, Groveton, NH – 70Laps

29. (12) Ben Ashline, Pittston, ME – 70 Laps

30. (21) Ben Rowe, Turner, ME – 69 Laps

Lap Leaders: Dave Pembroke (1-21), Brian Hoar (22-40), Jean-Paul Cyr (41-109), Wayne Helliwell Jr. (110), Nick Sweet (111), Helliwell (112-116), Patrick Laperle (117), Helliwell (118-128), Hoar (129-150)

Time of Race: 1:13:55(red flag 14:21)

Margin of Victory: .279 seconds

Cautions: 6 (laps 21, 65, 70(red), 109, 116, 128)

Heat Winners: Joey Polewarczyk Jr, Cris Michaud, Brett Wheeler, Glen Luce

Consi Winners: Mark Lamberton, Ben Ashline, Brian Hoar

B-Feature Winner: Quinny Welch

Bond Auto Tiger Sportsmen Top Ten

Pos. Driver, Hometown

1. 21 Blair Bessett Worcester, VT

2. 1 Scott Coburn Barre, VT

3. 64 Christopher Pelkey S. Barre, VT

4. 27 Kyle Pembroke Montpelier, VT

5. 00 Joe Steffen Grand Isle, VT

6. 01 Mike Martin Craftsbury Comm., VT

7. 07 Dylan Payea Henniker, NH

8. 16 George May Barre, VT

9. 10 Josh Demers Middlesex, VT

10. 23 Matt Potter Marshfield, VT

Allen Lumber Street Stocks Top Ten

Pos. Car # Driver, Hometown

1. 50 Tommy Smith Williamstown, VT

2. 92 Garry Bashaw Lincoln, VT

3. 83 Bunker Hodgdon Hardwick, VT

4. 03 Jason Kenison Groveton, NH

5. 6 Daniel Lathrop Morrisville, VT

6. 16 #Dean Switser Jr. Lyndonville, VT

7. 99 Ben Belanger Whitefield, NH

8. 11 Nick Pilotte Jefferson, NH

9. 77 Dave Whitcomb Elmore, VT

10. 88 Danny Doyle Hancock, VT