Patrick Laperle of St-Denis, QC celebrates a win at Autodrome Montmagny in 2011.

Waterbury, VT — In 2011, Patrick Laperle of St-Denis, QC dominated the field on his way to his second Serie ACT Castrol Championship. After a historic season in which he posted 11 top fives in 12 starts with an average finish of 3.66, he will look to make an attempt at back-to-back championships in 2012, a feat that has never been done in the series.

The road to the championship will not be easy, however, due to challenges from two other former champs. Karl Allard of St-Félicien, QC will be hungry for a championship after finishing second to Laperle in 2011. Allard has already had a taste of the top, when he won the Serie ACT Castrol Championship in 2010. Allard will look to return the championship trophy to the Larue Industrial Snowblower/Gayor Construction mantle in 2012.

Donald Theetge of Boischatel, QC is the only driver, other than Laperle, who has earned more than one championship in the series. Theetge finished third overall in 2011 with 2 feature wins, but in 2012 will bring a brand new RPM racing car to competition.

Other Serie Castrol drivers in contention for the title in 2012 are former Rookie of the Year and 2011 feature winner Patrick Hamel from St. Croix, QC along with top-five points finisher David Michaud, Dany Trepanier, Patrick Cliche and Jean-François Déry. All are expected to be contenders for the 2012 Serie ACT Castrol Title.

Laperle, known for his “no holds barred – full throttle” style knows that the competition on the ACT Castrol Series has gotten better and better over the past few years. Winning a title will not come easily.

“We didn’t race this winter, so we are extra excited to go racing. This year will be tough, I know Theetge has a new car, Allard has a great car, and there are many new drivers on the tour. I am most worried about Theetge, Allard and David Michaud for sure,” Laperle commented. “You need a lot of good luck in this series and there are a lot of new guys now. We will see how our chances look after the first race,” Laperle finished.

The season begins Saturday, May 26 at Autodrome Montmagny in Montmagny, QC.

For further information, head to or email us at