PASS North: Joey Doiron breaks through at Beech Ridge
Scarborough ME (5/5) Berwick Maine’s Joey Doiron charged to the lead on lap 87 of Saturday’s PASS North Southern Maine 150 at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway to earn a convincing victory, the first for the series’ 2010 Rookie of the Year. Lonnie Sommerville raced home in second followed by Derek Ramstrom, Cassius Clark and DJ Shaw. Doiron came from tenth on the grid and drove under Sommerville and race leader Shaw for a lead he would never relinquish.

Doiron’s best previous PASS North finish – a fourth – came in this event one year ago.

Doiron considers Beech Ridge his home track, and his victory comes after two seasons of trying to carry the PASS feature checkers. Despite his Rookie of the Year title in 2010, Doiron has suffered through more than his share of mechanical issues and on track incidents.The family– focused race teams’ perseverance paid off Saturday as the young man drove off to the most convincing win that PASS fans have witnessed in recent memory.

The season opener proved to be a day for the young guns to shine. Aaron Ricker, Shaw and Sommerville shared the lead over the first two thirds of the race and 2011 Co-Rookie of the Year Kyle DeSouza, Ramstrom, and Brad Babb spent most of the day contending for the top spot. Cassius Clark (4th) and Gary Smith (8th) both came from the back of the 32 car field and they were the only two in the top ten that have more than a few years experience on the tour’s tracks.

2011 race winner and defending series champion Johnny Clark had a race he’d rather forget, as did Ben and Mike Rowe. Clark qualified through the consolation rounds and started nineteenth. Clark picked up eight spots by lap 21 but he was sliding back 20 laps later and it was clear that there were problems with the 54. A trip to the pits under caution for a fix seemed to do the trick and he was back in the top five by lap 102. But the same driveline problem resurfaced, shutting off Clark’s ride intermittently and sending him sideways on more than one occasion. Only experience and determination allowed him to salvage a 16th place finish. Ben Rowe never seemed to have a handle on the speedway, despite his teams’ best efforts. Rowe had to settle for 22nd at the checkers. Mike Rowe had a race similar to his sons’ and the best the legend could muster was 18th.

The top eight all completed 150 green flag laps in just over an hour. The race was slowed by six caution periods, and Doiron’s late race dominance led to a 6.942 margin of victory. Fast lap was set by DJ Shaw (15.316/78.271). Qualifying wins went to Ricker, Hubbard and Shaw. Johnny Clark and Donnie Whitten prevailed in the consolation rounds.

The PASS Mod field had its’ strongest opening day showing ever and it was an all Shaw show from green to checker. Andy Shaw sat on the pole with Dale Shaw outside, and the pair swapped the lead on several occasions before the defending race and series champion prevailed. Dale chased Andy to the checkers and Dana Reed raced home third with Mark Lundblad Jr. and Travis Buzzell fourth and fifth. Scott Alexander and Andy Shaw claimed their heat races.

The PASS Sportsman suffered from the dreaded yellow fever early in their 75 lap feature. Five of the seven caution flags flew in the first 30 laps but once the field hit their stride the racing was intense. Carey Martin worked his way by Clyde Hennessey on a lap 28 restart and never gave up the lead, despite Craig Smith’s late race charge. Mike Clark made his trip from Littleton New Hampshire worthwhile with a solid third; Clyde Hennessey and Scott Dorr settled for fourth and fifth. Jarrod Ledger and Nate Leavitt earned the front row starting spots in their qualifiers.

The PASS Super Late Models and Mods are in action Saturday May 12th when the bull ring, Epping New Hampshire’s Star Speedway, hosts the two series. Race Time is 4:30 PM. The PASS Sportsman take a break until Sunday June 3rd when all three PASS North touring divisions visit Riverside Speedway in Groveton New Hampshire.

[adrotate block=”1″]

Unofficial PASS North Feature Results – Beech Ridge Motor Speedway, Scarborough ME – 5/5/12
Southern Maine 150 –PASS North Super Late Models

1 73 Joey Doiron Berwick ME
2 48 Lonnie Sommerville Barnesville NB CA
3 35 Derek Ramstrom Worcester MA
4 77 Cassius Clark Farmington ME
5 60 DJ Shaw Center Conway NH
6 88 Kyle DeSouza E. Providence RI
7 21 David Oliver Standish ME
8 75 Gary Smith Bangor ME
9 80 Dustin Hubbard Unity ME
10 7 Donnie Whitten Wells ME
11 41 Brad Babb Windham ME
12 10 Scott Dragon Milton VT
13 27QC Alex Gingras Quebec QC
14 38 Dan McKeage Gorham ME
15 47 Kelly Moore Scarborough ME
16 54 Johnny Clark Farmingdale ME
17 17 Travis Benjamin Morrill ME
18 24 Mike Rowe Turner ME
19 33 Richie Dearborn Hollis ME
20 55 Corey Williams Huntersville NC
21 61 Andy Shaw Ctr. Conway NH
22 4 Ben Rowe Turner ME
25 15 Scott Chubbuck Dresden ME
26 9 J.T. Thurlow Windham ME
27 16 Kevin Roberge Quebec City QC
28 20 Mike Landry Oakland ME
29 53 Bill Rodgers Old Orchard Beach ME
30 84 Scott Mulkern Falmouth ME
31 26 John Donahue Graniteville VT
32 00 Bryan Kruczek Newmarket NH

PASS Sportsman (75 Laps)
1 18 Carey Martin Denmark ME
2 15 Craig Smith E. Waterboro ME
3 2 Mike Clark Littleton NH
4 8 Clyde Hennessey Windham ME
5 60ME Scott Dorr Portland ME
6 20 Joe Pastore Jr. Gorham ME
7 01 Sam Gooden Whitefield NH
8 88 J.R. Baril Haverhill MA
9 75 Doug Wolfe Jr. Buxton ME
10 02 Geoff Rollins Groton MA
11 36 Nate Leavitt Buxton ME
12 101 Rob Drew Ctr. Lovell ME
13 51 Bill Ahern Billerica MA
14 44 Jerrod Ledger Groveton NH
15 83ME Ryan Greene Berwick ME
16 10 Donnie Morse Windham ME
17 4 Allan Moeller Sr. Dresden ME
18 88 Andy Field Buxton ME
19 99 Peter Cook Nottingham NH
20 94 Garrett Hall Scarborough ME
21 38 Dan McKeage Gorham ME
22 51A RJ Austin Smithfield ME
23 58 Lyman McKeage Gorham ME
24 81 Ray Dinsmore Jr. Alfred ME
25 44X Rusty Poland Windham ME

PASS Mod (40 laps)

1 66 Andy Shaw Ctr. Conway NH
2 6 Dale Shaw Ctr. Conway NH
3 60 Dana Reed Shapleigh ME
4 28 Mark Lundblad Jr. Conway NH
5 3 Travis Buzzell Hollis ME
6 17A Scott Alexander Orrington ME
7 21 Mike Carignan Somersworth NH
8 0 Sumner Sessions Norway ME
9 20 Gary Thorne Sidney ME
10 33 Bill Dixon N. Waterboro ME
11 1 Dave Sprague W. Buxton ME
12 70 Gary Norris Jr. W. Gardiner ME
13 08 Rusty Bryant Weymouth MA 14
14 Scott McDaniel Livermore ME
15 7 Mitch Miller W Boylston MA
16 53 Alan Wilson Hebron ME
17 89 Ryan Phillips Buxton ME
18 00 Bill Lake Conway NH
19 56 Dave Pinkham Buxton ME

Visit NERacingForum.Com for latest New England Racing community News and updates.

[adrotate block=”3″]