NAPLES ME (7/17) Two Pro All Stars Series (PASS) North touring series are preparing for their first Oxford (ME) Plains Speedway appearance of 2012 as the racing extravaganza that is TD Bank Oxford 250 weekend approaches.

The PASS Mods highlight Friday night’s action, presented by the Sun Journal. Many of the PASS Mod competitors learned their trade in Oxford’s weekly racing series. Andy Shaw, Dale Shaw and Alan Wilson were once regulars at the Route 26 oval and Wilson was victorious in the 2011 edition. The Mods will battle for 40 green flag laps on a card that includes the Oxford Championship Series (no Late Models), the Oxford Acceleration series and a happy hour practice session for the PASS North Super Late Models. Friday evening July 20 the racing goes green at 6:30 PM.

After four events Andy Shaw leads the PASS Mod standings by seven over his uncle Dale Shaw. Andy Shaw, Alan Wilson, Pancho Darveau and Rusty Bryant have each scored a PASS Mod feature win this season.

The PASS North Super Late Models take center stage on Saturday July 21. It’s Dunkin Donuts Night at the speedway and the PASS stars and cars are scheduled for 150 green flag laps. Heat races will determine the starting line-up but 2012 race winners never start a PASS feature in the top ten and there’s always a battle to get to the front of the field.

Mainers hold down the top three spots in the PASS North super late model point standings; Morrills’ Travis Benjamin leads Farmingtons’ Cassius Clark by a scant nine points and defending series champion Johnny Clark, who hails from Hallowell, trails Cassius by just one. Benjamin, (1) Cassius Clark (2), Johnny Clark (2) Joey Doiron (1), Scott Dragon (1) and Derek Ramstrom (1) have all visited PASS North victory lane this season and all six are on the early entry list for Oxford. Kyle Busch claimed the 2011 race ahead of Cassius Clark and Lonnie Sommerville.
The Oxford Championship Series (no Late Models) completes Saturday’s lineup. Racing goes green at 6:30 PM.
Visit to see the complete standings and the Oxford super late model early entry list.