Speedway 95Steve Moulton of Holden used a late race caution to his advantage as he passed race long leader Shane Tatro of Holden on the restart and led the final 5 laps of the 50 lap Gardner Construction Enterprises Series event for the Maine State Lottery Sportsman Division. Tatro had led from the drop of the green until the caution fell on lap 43. Tatro and Moulton swapped the lead for 2 laps when the caution fell again on lap 45. It was all Moulton from that point on, although he admitted to using a little blocking on the final 2 laps to keep Tatro behind him. Tatro finished second followed by D.J. Moody of Prospect, who was almost a half lap behind the two leaders in third. Fourth went to Kris Matchett of Skowhegan with Gene Wasson of Greenbush in fifth. Only the top three finished the race on the lead lap. Moulton won the event’s qualifying race and started the feature on the pole.

In the evening’s other extended length feature. Duane Seekins of Stockton Springs brought his old Strictly Street car out of mothballs and won the 35 lap Pepsi Bottling Company series event. Seekins took the lead on the 8th circuit and held it through one restart on lap 26 when Alex Berry of Harrington and Shawn Hamel II of Bangor tangled and spun on the front stretch. Seekins was able to hold off points leader Andrew McLaughlin of Harrington on the restart to garner his first win of the season. McLaughlin finished second with Cornville’s Shelby Kimball recovering from an early race spin to finish third. Jim Carr Jr. of Clifton finished fourth after running in the top three most of the race. Fifth went to Duane Dunifer Sr. of Carmel. Kimball won the qualifier for the night, placing her on the pole for the feature.

In the Dysart’s Late Models, Mike Hopkins came from a back of the field starting spot to pass race long leader Ryan Deane of Winterport on the 30th lap of the 35 lap feature to post his fourth win of the season. Deane had kept the lead through three restarts that helped Hopkins work his way to the front. Deane finished second with Ellsworth’s Andy Saunders passing John Kalel II of Orrington on the final lap to take third. Kalel finished fourth with Milo’s Nick Jenkins taking fifth. Rounding out the top 10 in the 16 car field were Dale Swoboda of Hermon, Jeff Burgess of Oakland, Jason Witt of Dixmont, Duane Seekins of Stockton Springs and rookie Ryan Modery of Hermon. Deane and Saunders won the division’s preliminary heat races.

Bradley Dolan of Glenburn passed Carmel’s Becky Elston on the final lap of the 20 lap Sport-Four feature to take his fourth win of the season. Elston had led from the pole until Dolan was able to slip by on the final lap of the caution free race. Elston finished second followed by Keith Ogden of Holden in third. Fourth went to Milo’s Steve Heath with Fred Ashmore of Hancock rounding out the top five. Elston and Ogden won the evening’s qualifiers.

Andrew Crosby added to his win total in the Bomber class as he led from the pole to the checkers in the 20 lap feature that was stopped only once, on lap 10, by the caution flag. Garett Hayman of Milford came from near the back of the pack to chase down Crosby for the win, but came up about a car-length short at the end. Hayman finished second with Jeremy Scott of Carmel right on Hayman’s bumper in third. Fourth went to Mark Sawyer of Corinth with Mark Lane of Newport finishing fifth. Crosby and Scott Bonney of Bangor won the division’s qualifying races.

Saturday night racing continues at Speedway 95 on Saturday July 7, at 7:00 with the Dysart’s Late Models, Sportsman, Strictly Street, a Sport-Four 35 lap Coca-Cola series race and the Bombers all in action..

Visit NERacingForum.Com for latest New England Racing community News and updates.Get the latest New England Racing News in your in box, Join our Newsletter today[adrotate block=?3?]