Speedway 95Although he’s been atop the Dysart’s Late Model points chart for most of the 2012 season, it took Andy Saunders of Ellsworth until this past Saturday night to finally post a feature race win in the track’s premier division. Saunders started the race in the fifth spot in the 17 car field, and it took him until a restart on lap 26 before he could pass Milford’s Deane Smart to take the lead. Smart had led the event for most of the first 26 laps, losing it for only a lap at a time through close competition from Duane Seekins of Stockton Springs and Hermon’s Phil Richardson, who took turns challenging Smart for the top spot. Smart fought them both off, but didn’t have enough left at the end to keep Saunders from taking the win. Smart finished second with Seekins in third. Fourth went to Joey Doyon of Winterport with Hermon’s Dale Swoboda finishing fifth.

Jim Carr Jr. led the Strictly Street 35 lap Pepsi Beverage Company series feature from start to finish, but the win didn’t come as easily as that might sound. Bob Seger Jr. of Frankfort was either right on Carr’s bumper or outside him trying to pass for the final 20 laps of the event. Seger finished second on the track, but was disqualified in post race inspection for illegal suspension and tires. As a result, Andrew McLaughlin of Harrington was elevated to the second place finishing spot with Mac Hannon of Union placing third. David Gray of Dixmont finished fourth with Cornville’s Matt Kimball in fifth. The three race series title went to McLaughlin, with Carr finishing that tally in second. Shelby Kimball of Cornville, who went into the night second in the series points, fell out of the night’s event early with engine failure, so finished further down in thefinal standings.

Bradley Norris of Ellsworth was declared the winner of the Gardner Construction Enterprises 50 lap series race for the Maine State Lottery Sportsman Division following post-race inspections where apparent winner Kris Watson of Hermon was disqualified for a weight infraction. Norris ran a steady race and stayed out of trouble, which some of the other competitors were unable to do. Shane Tatro, Steve Moulton and D.J. Moody, who were all racing for the series title were sent to the rear of the field at one point as all were involved in spin causing a caution flag on lap 30. Moulton, thinking his chances for the series title were over, had to leave the track to change a flat tire, but was able to make it back out before the race resumed. In the final 20 laps, he was able to manage a 5th place finish. D.J. Moody, who led the series coming into the night’s event, had a mechanical failure late in the race which ended his chances for the title. Shane Tatro of Holden finished the 50 lap event in second, followed by Skowhegan’s Kris Matchett in third. Jeremy Glazier of Appleton was fourth with Moulton finishing fifth.

Emma Libby of Glenburn picked up her first feature win of the season in the Sport-Four division in a race that saw 21 cars take the green flag. A fourteen year old rookie in the division, Libby earned the win by first passing early leader Fred Ashmore Jr. of Hancock on lap six, then had to again race her way to the lead by passing Hudson’s Donny Silva who had beaten Libby off the line on a lap 17 restart. Libby regained the lead on lap 19 and won by less than a car length over Silva at the end of the 20 lap race. Silva finished second with Ashmore in third. Fourth went to Glenburn’s Bradley Dolan, and Ted Ryder of Carmel was fifth.

Jeremy Scott of Carmel raced his way to the front in the caution free 15 lap Bomber division feature, taking the lead on lap 7and never looking back, to post his second win in a row in the division. Cody Robbins of Oakland worked his way up from the rear of the 14 car starting field to finish in second, followed by Hermon’s Andrew Crosby in third. Fourth went to Bangor’s Scott Bonney with Mark Lane of Newport finishing fifth.