Speedway 95Travis Beale of Hampden took the lead on lap one of the 1st annual Chummy’s Groundhog Special for Little Enduros at Speedway 95 Wednesday night and led all the way in the caution free 50 lap event. Beale was never seriously challenged although Fred Ashmore Jr. of Hancock was closing in on the leader when the checkers came out. Ashmore, who started fifth had worked his way up into the second spot by the half way point, but couldn’t get close enough to Beale to make a serious challenge for the top spot. In post race inspection, Ashmore’s car was disqualified for not meeting the chassis height specifications, so Garett Hayman of Milford was awarded second after dropping as far back as sixth at one point, but working his way back toward the front as the laps progressed. Hermon’s Andrew Crosby finished in third with Beal’s wife, Danielle Beale finishing in fourth. Fifth place was not available as only the first four cars were on the lead lap at the finish.

Jim Carr Jr. led from the pole to the checkers in the BDS Waste Disposal series race for the pick up trucks. Peter Drake of Corinth challenged Carr for the lead in the early laps, but faded and left the race early with motor troubles. Roger Smith Jr. of Bangor took second place from Drake on lap 14 and was able to maintain that position at the end. Levant’s Jason Haskell finished third with Bucksport’s Dana Harlow winning the race long battle with Mike Lynch of Winterport for the fourth spot. Lynch finished fifth.

Emma Libby of Glenburn won both the Ladies division races of the evening by beating Rhonda Wilbur of Hermon, Becky Elston-Burns of Carmel, Nicole Smith of Clifton and Amy Houde of W. Enfield after starting on the pole in the race made up from last week’s cancellation. In the regularly scheduled feature, Libby took the lead from Nicole Smith of Clifton on lap 3 of the caution free 20 lap event and cruised to her second victory of the night. Smith finished second with Rhonda Wilbur of Hermon in third. Fourth in the second event went to Amy Houde of W. Enfield with Erin Armstrong of Milo finishing fifth.

Big Enduro action saw Bob Seger Jr. of Frankfort grab the lead away from Shawn MacNevin of Hudson on the fourth lap and drive away for the win. MacNevin finished second after a battle for the position with third place finished Ed Cobb Jr. of LaGrange. Alvin MacNevin of Clifton finished fourth and Shawn Racilla of Dover-Foxcroft was fifth following a last lap incident that spun both MacNevin and Racilla in turn four on the last lap.

Austin Clemons of Norridgewock continued his winning streak in the Stars of Tomorrow. Whitney Saunders of Ellsworth placed second after Ricky Pease Jr. of Detroit and Robert Dyer of Canaan were penalized two positions each at the finish for passing two cars on the initial start before they crossed the starting line. Dylan Street of Old Town finished third with Pease and Dyer rounding out the top five.