Speedway 95 results September 15

2010 Speedway 95 Little Enduro champion Danny Blanchard of Bangor appeared to have won his career first Dysart’s Late Model feature Saturday night at Speedway 95, but a post race inspection found that his crate motor did not still contain the required seal indicating that it had not been worked on since being sealed by Butler and MacMaster Automotive of Hallowell, the official engine shop of Speedway 95. Management has agreed to hold the finish of the race in suspense until the motor, which has been removed from the car, is taken to Butler and MacMaster on Monday to be tested. If it passes the test, Blanchard will be allowed to keep the win. Blanchard had led from the pole to lap 33 when a yellow flag bunched the 17 car field up for a two lap dash to the finish. Duane Seekins of Stockton Springs, who had run second for most of the race, challenged Blanchard over the last two laps, but was unable to unseat Blanchard from the top spot and finished second. In his post race interview, Seekins complained that Ryan Deane, the third place finisher, pushed him sideways on those last two laps, causing his car to lose traction and making it impossible for him to beat Blanchard. Points leader Andy Saunders of Ellsworth finished in fourth with John Kalel II of Orrington finishing fifth. All positions are unofficial until the Blanchard motor test is completed on Monday.

Another controversy erupted in the Strictly Street feature that was won by Andrew McLaughlin of Harrington. On lap 16, Shelby Kimball of Cornville and Jim Carr Jr. of Clifton spun off the track in turn four and sat there for a lap. When the yellow flew, the cars rejoined the field at the rear of the pack, but were determined to be a lap down. A later check with scoring revealed that they did not actually lose a lap because, according to the rules, when the yellow flag is used, the restart of the race reverts back to the last lap run under green in which all cars competing on that lap completed the lap. That put the field back to the beginning of lap 16 for the restart, a point at which both Kimball and Carr were running with the field. Kimball came back through the field to finish third, behind Bob Seger Jr. of Frankfort, who had finished second. Cody Brassbridge of Frankfort, who had been awarded third when Kimball was initially thought to be down a lap was allowed to keep third place money and points, as management didn’t want anyone to lose points or position over a decision they made that was later reversed. The decision to award third place points and money to both drivers had no effect on any other drivers in the season points positions. Fourth went to David Gray of Dixmont with Ren Dorr of Addison finishing fifth.

Bradley Dolan of Carmel returned to victory lane in the Sport-Four division after starting from the pole. Brad Bosworth of Cornville finished in second after starting 13th in the 23 car field, followed by Fred Ashmore of Hancock in third. Fourth went to points leader Ted Ryder of Carmel with Glenburn’s Emma Libby finishing fifth after climbing from a 19th place starting position. Only one caution flag slowed the action early on lap 5, when a trio of cars spun off turn one.

The Maine State Lottery Sportsman division ran two feature races due to a make up from last week being run at the start of the night’s action. In the first feature, Kris Watson of Hermon took the win in the caution free 25 lap event with Brad Norris of Ellsworth in second. Third went to Jeremy Glazier of Appleton, followed by D.J. Moody of Prospect in fourth and points leader Steve Moulton of Holden in fifth. In the second feature, which also went caution free, Joe Leger of Milford picked up his first win of the season in his third week of competition. Kris Watson of Hermon, who owns the car Leger drove to the win, finished second, followed by D.J. Moody of Prospect in third. Brad Norris of Ellsworth was fourth with Steve Moulton of Holden again finishing in fifth.

Jeremy Scott of Carmel picked up the Bomber Division win after passing early leader Bob Seger Jr. of Frankfort on the second lap. Seger finished in second with Mark Lane of Newport finishing third. Andrew Crosby of Hermon finished fourth with Joey Doyon of Winterport in fifth.

Dylan Street of Old Town won the Stars of Tomorrow feature for the second week in a row in a race that was again decreased in laps due to the time limit placed on the division. Dustin Durrell of Newburgh finished in second, followed by Kyle Moore of Frankfort in third. Caleb Kalel of Old Town was fourth with Alex Runci of Belfast finishing fifth.