ACT LogoTherrien, Pilotte Take Top Honors

Barre, VT – Late Model Champion Nick Sweet celebrated his second King of the Road title at the Thunder Road Banquet of Champions on Saturday, January 26 at the Barre Elks Club. Bond Auto Tiger Sportsman Champion Bobby Therrien, and Allen Lumber Street Stock Champion Nick Pilotte were also honored for their respective titles.

Sweet dominated the Late Model division in 2012, becoming just the third Late Model champion in Thunder Road’s history to win the title with four victories. The family-run team posted a nearly unbeatable 13 top tens in their 14 starts, claiming his second championship in his four-year late model career at The Nation’s Site of Excitement. He now has 9 feature Late Model victories at Thunder Road.

Hinesburg, VT’s Bobby Therrien was honored for his Bond Auto Tiger Sportsmen championship, though he could not be in attendance. His heroism in the final laps at the 50th People’s United Bank Milk Bowl earned him his first Tiger Championship by two points over Wolcott, VT’s Brendan Moodie, Jr. Jefferson, NH’s Nick Pilotte claimed his first Allen Lumber Street Stock championship in 2012, after missing the title by just three points in 2011. He finished in the top ten in 17 of the 18 events in 2012. He also welcomed a son in the off-season.

Times Argus Sports Editor Anna Grearson won the Ken Squier award for contributions to Thunder Road. She was praised for her dedication to loyal fans and drivers, and Vermont as a whole, through her writing and her passion for the sport.

Rookie of the Year honors were received by Barre, VT’s own Lance Allen in the Late Models, Waterbury Center, VT’s Jason Woodard in the Bond Auto Tiger Sportsmen, and Lyndonville, VT’s Dean Switser in the Allen Lumber Street Stock division.

The Sportsmanship Award in the Late Models was to Fayston, VT’s Brooks Clark for his positive attitude and veteran presence in the pits. Williamstown, VT’s Mike Ziter won the Sportsmanship Award for the third year straight in the Bond Auto Tiger Sportsmen, and Elmore, VT’s Dave Whitcomb won the Ed Carroll Memorial Sportsmanship Award in the Allen Lumber Street Stocks.

Most Improved awards went to young Late Model standout Cody Blake, two-time Bond Auto Tiger Sportsman winner in 2012 Christopher Pelkey, and sophomore sensation Cameron Ouellette in the Allen Lumber Street Stocks.

2013 looks to be another historic year at the Nation’s Site of Excitement as teams prepare for the upcoming season. The 2013 Thunder Road season kicks off with the Merchants Bank 150 on the weekend of April 27th and 28th. The remainder of the Thunder Road schedule is set to be released in the near future.

For additional information, head to, email us at, or call the Thunder Road Office at (802) 244-6963.