Speedway 95
Both of Speedway 95’s top performing lady drivers, Emma Libby of Glenburn and Shelby Kimball of Cornville overcame adversity to win their respective extended length feature races at the Hermon oval Saturday night. In the Sport-Four Coca-Cola series event, 15 year old Emma Libby of Glenburn was sent to the rear of the 15 car field along with Dedham’s Keith Ogden following a lap 5 scuffle that brought out the race’s third caution flag. Libby then made an impressive charge to the front, methodically passing car after car without the help of any additional caution flags, running down and passing Hudson’s Donny Silva for the lead with 6 laps to go in the 35 lap race. Silva finished second with Hermon’s Andrew Crosby taking third. Kevin Hartley of Hermon finished fourth with Carmel’s Bradley Dolan in fifth.

In the Keystone Automotive Strictly Street division’s Pepsi Beverage Company 35 lap series race, Shelby Kimball was scheduled to start on the outside pole, but after 2 unsuccessful attempts at a clean start, she and pole sitter Alex Berry of Harrington were both sent to the rear of the field, a penalty specified in the rule book regardless of which driver was actually at fault. With Winslow’s Andy Turbowsky taking the lead on the start, Kimball began her charge to the front. She had one yellow flag help her get through the field when the caution flew on lap 23 after leader Bobby Seger Jr. of Frankfort had mechanical issues and stalled on the track. On the restart, Kimball lined up next to Turbowsky, but was unable to take the lead away from him and finished second on the track. However, during a post-race inspection, Turbowsky was disqualified for two weight violations and Kimball was declared the winner of the race. Shawn Austin of Norridgewock finished second with Berry taking third. Fourth went to Hermon’s Gerry Phillips and Jim Bragdon of Corinth finished fifth.

The Dysart’s Late Model 40 lap feature also provided the fans with excitement on a cold May night when Ryan Deane of Winterport passed race long leader Wayne Parritt of Steuben on lap 36 to post his second victory of the season. Parritt, who had led from the drop of the green, did everything he could to keep Deane behind him, but Deane kept the pressure on Parritt until he was able to slip underneath for the winning pass. Parritt finished in second, followed by Hermon’s Mike Hopkins, who made a strong run from the rear of the field to finish third. Fourth went to Bradley’s Deane Smart with Shane Clark of Winterport finishing fifth.

In the Bangor Ford Sportsman division, Kris Watson of Hermon held off Kris Matchett of Skowhegan to win the 25 lap feature by less than a car length. Matchett finished second with Bradley Norris of Ellsworth coming home third. Fourth went to Lindsey Young of Winterport in her first race of the season with Bradley Smart of Bradley finishing fifth.

The caution free Bomber feature win went to Cody Robbins of Palermo, who took the lead from Newport’s Mark Lane on the 16th lap of the 20 lap race. Lane finished second, followed by Paul Jackson of Fairfield. Dennis Burns of Carmel was fourth and Scott Bonney of Bangor finished fifth.

The Wicked Good Vintage Racing Association made their first appearance of the season at the speedway with Scott Tucker of Winthrop taking the win in the Late Model/Modified feature. Keith Smalley of Warren was second, followed by Wally Henderson of Litchfield, Caleb Willette of Winslow and Bobby Symonds (town unknown). In the Sportsman/Outlaw feature, Ken Robinson of East Machias took the lead from Bradley’s Tim Reynolds on the final lap to post the win. Reynolds finished second, followed by Hermon’s Kris Watson in third. Shawn Racila of Dover-Foxcroft finished fourth with Forrest Davis of Glenburn in fifth.

Racing continues at Speedway 95 on Saturday May 25th at 5:00 p.m. with the Dysart’s Late Models, the Darling’s Ford Sportsman, Keystone Automotive Street Stocks, Sport- Fours and Bombers all in action. The Bombers will race an extended length feature in the first of three series events scheduled for the division.

On Sunday, June 2, Speedway 95 will hold the second annual Speedway 95 car show from 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Prizes will be awarded for the best of the 50’s, 60’s, 70’s, 80’s, 90’s and 2000’s as well as a People’s Choice award. For more information, contact “Moe” at 207-356-9605. Admission is free for participants and spectators.