leeLee, NH – Lee USA Speedway hosted the second race of the 2013 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series season on Friday night, with veteran driver “Super Dave” Sanborn taking down his first win of the season in the Benson Lumber and Hardware-sponsored 30-lap feature event for the Small Block Supermodifieds.

The action was halted by a red flag shortly after flagman Steve Grant had unfurled the green to let them loose, as a multi-car tangle collected nearly half the field in turn two. Most drivers were able to push off and rejoin the lineup, with a couple of drivers heading to the infield pit area for a quick once-over by their crews before re-entering the race.

Sanborn immediately moved out to the lead when racing action resumed, with Mike Netishen and former Lee USA Speedway Late Model champion Ricky Wolf quickly getting past second place runner Tony Carroll in the Full Throttle Racing #2 to challenge Sanborn for the top spot.

Both drivers gave it all they had, but Sanborn had the Howdy Clapp machine consistently clicking off laps in the 14.2 second range, and he led impressively from flag to flag to score his first win of the year. Netishen was next across the stripe in the runner-up slot, with Wolf making his first trip to the Small Block Super podium after finishing third.

Fourth place went to veteran Sparky MacIver in the Bob Chabot entry, followed by opening night winner Ryan Gath, Leslie Keyser, Tommy Tombarello, Tony Carroll, Jake Stergios, and former multi-time champion Eddie Witkum, Jr., who was making his season debut in the second Witkum Brothers Racing machine.

Prime Warehouse and Storage Late Model Sportsman action saw another exciting 30-lap feature event, with Geoff Rollins motoring past Ray Dinsmore to grab the lead early on, with early pressure coming from defending champ J.R. Baril in the Brian House entry.

Alby Ovitt was next in the running order at the halfway point, but when Baril found trouble and spun from contention with just six laps remaining in the race, Ovitt moved up to challenge Rollins for the top spot. The laps ran out before Ovitt could get to the leader, and Rollins led them under the checkers to post his first win of the 2013 campaign.

Ovitt grabbed his best finish of the early season with a strong second place run, and Grant Aither came from deep in the field to grab third. Jimmy Russell put a solid effort to finish fourth, with Michele Fushpanski, Patrick Stewart, Baril, David Piper, Ryan Green and Raymond Dinsmore closing out the top ten.

David MacDonald became a first-time winner in the David’s Race Cars and Components Hobby Stock main event, outrunning all the division’s top runners to post the win. MacDonald moved out to the lead as soon as the race went green, with 2012 feature winners Chris Jacobson and Patrick Tanguay giving chase for the first several laps.

The race was red-flagged on lap eight for cleanup efforts after Ron Washburn lost an engine and dropped fluid on the track, but the delay didn’t do anything to slow MacDonald’s early-race momentum. He picked up the lead once again on the restart, and held it the rest of the way to score the big win.

Jacobson was fast all night, but had to settle for second, with last year’s championship runner-up, Tanguay, taking home the third place trophy. Fourth spot went to Kyle Sawyer after his best run of the year, followed by opening night winner Jim Piaseczny, Billy Clement, Jr., Wade Worster, Paul Palen, Torrey Kovalesky and Troy Washburn.

Hannah Shaw was on a mission in the American Used Auto Parts Ironman feature event, jumping out to the early lead with Danielle Simoneau right on her back bumper in the second spot. Shaw held on to the lead well past the halfway mark, but she eventually lost the lead to Wayne Purington with the laps winding down.

Purington was in front of a last-lap scramble that cost a few drivers better finishing positions, and he easily led them across the finish line to pick up his first win of the year. Shaw earned her best career result in the runner-up spot, taking the second position by mere inches at the line.

Travis Hollins joined the top two in the victory lane ceremony after a solid third place run, and he was followed to the checkers by opening night winner Zach Washburn, Evan Horvath, Simoneau, and Chris Murray.