OPS Oxford Plains Speedway
14-year-old claims Pro Late Model honors in first night racing program of 2013 OPS season

Oxford, Maine – Tommy Stilphen of Arundel became the youngest Oxford Championship Series race winner ever, posting his first career Oxford Plains Speedway main event victory in the 40-lap Pro Late Model feature Friday night.

Tyson Jordan of Poland, Justin Larsen of Peru and Corey Morgan of Lewiston also scored main event victories in the first night race of the 2013 season at the historic Maine speedplant.

Stilphen, a 14-year-old rookie, just beat multi-time track champion Shawn Martin of Turner to the checkered flag after race-long leader Chris Coolidge suffered handling issues after building a huge lead, allowing Stilphen, Martin and the rest of the frontrunners to close in quickly as he attempted to negotiate lapped traffic.

“That’s the hardest I’ve ever driven in my life,” the youngster said in victory lane. “This is awesome. I’d like to thank my grandfather, Billy (Stilphen), and Corey and Trevor Sanborn for all of their help.”

Lapped traffic played a role in the outcome of the event, as Martin chased Stilphen through slower traffic during the last couple of laps. A three-wide move earlier in the event set Stiphen up to be in position to capitalize on the misfortune of Norway’s Coolidge, who looked like a sure winner until the event’s final five laps.

Martin’s bid for a second straight win came up just short, and he settled for runner-up honors. TJ Brackett of Buckfield, the current leader in the OPS Pro Late Model championship point standings, claimed a third-place finish. Opening Day winner Dale Shaw of Center Conway, New Hampshire and Jay’s Dave Farrington, Jr. rounded out the top five.

Tyson Jordan of Poland made a last-lap charge around Lewiston racer Rick Spaulding to claim victory in a thrilling 30-lap feature race for the Street Stock division, after Spaulding had made an impressive early drive from 14th starting position, going three-wide on the outside on more than one occasion en route to the front of the pack.

Jordan, boxed in traffic as Spaulding romped to the top spot, had to make his bid as time was running out, and had about two feet to spare as he raced under the checkered flag. Spaulding was disappointed with his close runner-up finish, while Skip Tripp ran just a bit short on time in his incredible run from 22nd starting position to nail down the third-place trophy. David Whittier of Poland and Waterford’s Spencer Morse rounded out the top five.

Mini Stock rookie Justin Larsen of Peru left no doubt as to who was in charge his 30-lap main event, dominating the event as no one else had, to date, this season at the famed Route 26 oval. Despite Larsen’s dominance, the race was quite entertaining, with top-five running positions swapped on just about every laps.

Opening Day Mini Stock victor Rob Greenleaf of West Bath prevailed in a five-way battle for runner-up honors. Calvin Rose, Jr., of Turner, held on to his early-season lead in the championship standings with a third straight podium finish. Shane Kaherl of Jay and Rumford’s Ryan Glover rounded out the top-five in the Allen’s Coffee Flavored Brandy-sponsored, four-cylinder-powered class.

Corey Morgan of Lewiston prevailed for the second time this season in the 25-lap Outlaw Sportsman main event, and stands as the lone racer with more than one feature event triumph through three weekly Oxford Championship Series programs.

Morgan lined up 13th on the starting grid and charged toward the front of the pack, eventually going by the driver who led more laps than anyone, Steve Moon of Gray, en route to victory lane.

Guy Childs of Turner made sure the outcome was in doubt for several laps, racing side-by-side with the eventual winner before settling for runner-up honors in front of Kyle Hewins of Leeds. Auburn’s Kyle Treadwell just missed out on a trophy spot after an aggressive run amongst the frontrunners. Early pacesetter moon rounded out the top five.

Oxford Plains Speedway Championship Series competition continues Friday night, May 24, with Post Time set for 7:15 p.m. Oxford Plains Speedway is located at 877 Main Street (State Route 26) in Oxford, Maine.

Oxford Championship Series race summary; event #3, May 17, 2013:

Pro Late Model (40 laps)
1. 70 Tommy Stilphen, Arundel
2. 94 Shawn Martin, Turner
3. 61 TJ Brackett, Buckfield
4. 68 Dale Shaw, Center Conway NH
5. 23 Dave Farrington, Jr., Jay
6. 21 Kevin Douglass, Sidney
7. 60 Timmy Brackett, Buckfield
8. 3 Vanna Brackett, Buckfield
9. 22 Scott Farrington, Minot
10. 73 Adam Polvinen, Oxford
11. 72 Chris Coolidge, Norway
12. 0 Bill Penfold, Oxford
13. 71 Gary Chiasson, Peru
14. 6 Tommy Ricker, Poland
15. 18 Thom Bell, Minot
16. 63 Donnie Wentworth, Otisfield.

Allen’s Coffee Flavored Brandy Street Stock (30 laps)
1. 69 Tyson Jordan, Poland
2. 36 Rick Spaulding, Lewiston
3. 12 Skip Tripp, Poland
4. 58 David Whittier, Poland
5. 34 Spencer Morse, Waterford
6. 23 Zach Emerson, Sabattus
7. 9 Ryan Robbins, Dixfield
8. 55 Kurt Hewins, Leeds
9. 63 Matt Williams, Brownfield
10. 3 Josh Childs, Leeds
11. 1 Billy Childs, Jr., Leeds
12. 5 Ryan Hewins, Leeds
13. 8 Keith Stuart, Naples
14. 26 Corey Morgan, Lewiston
15. 08 Robbie Wentworth, Conway NH
16. 96 Matt Dufault, Turner
7. 83 Dan Brown, Peru
18. 60 Richard Wentworth, Conway NH
19. 777 Mike St. Germain, Auburn
20. 28 Mark Lundblad, Albany NH
21. 04 Zach Bowie, Sabattus
22. 77 Richard Mains, Portland.

Allen’s Coffee Flavored Brandy Mini Stock (30 laps)
1. 18 Justin Larsen, Peru
2. 2 Rob Greenleaf, West Bath
3. 8 Calvin Rose, Jr., Turner
4. 19 Shane Kaherl, Jay
5. 06 Ryan Glover, Rumford
6. 4 Nik Coates, Lisbon
7. 83 Brady Romano, Livermore Falls
8. 16 Mike Ward, Harrison
9. 29 Brandon Palmer, Bridgton
10. 10 Jimmy Childs, Leeds.

Ripley & Fletcher Ford Outlaw Sportsman (25 laps)
1. 26 Corey Morgan, Lewiston
2. 5 Guy Childs, Turner
3. 51 Kyle Hewins, Leeds
4. 44 Kyle Treadwell, Auburn
5. 19 Steve Moon, Gray
6. 71 Fred Clavet, Buckfield
7. 77 David Vaughn, Naples
8. 38 Addison Bowie, Auburn
9. 14 Scott Hethcoat, Danville Junction
10. 7 Chris Burgess, Buckfield
11. 97 Shannon Judd, Jay
12. 28 Josh Toothaker, Sabattus
13. 99 George Haskell, Casco
14. 23 John White
15. 10 Scott Ellis, Lewiston
16. 6 Todd Bisbee, South Paris
17. 39 Gerry Freve, Buckfield
18. 21 Rachel Dubois, Sabattus
19. 67 Mike Haynes, Livermore Falls.