texasSaturday the Texas Roadhouse North East Mini Stock Tour made their fourth visit to Waterford Speedbowl for their annual Four Cylinder Fury event. RH2Way, Z-Best Pizza, and Jett Fabrication added in extra bonuses to NEMST and Waterford teams that attempted the 50 lap main event. Heat was the big issue of the day causing cars and tempers to flair with problems throughout the days events.

27 cars registered for Saturday’s portion of the first ever NEMST double-header weekend. Toby Wells, Marc Panaroni, and Glen Thomas all secured heat race wins. 4 rows were inverted by heat winner Toby Wells. The field was lined up with Garret Denton and Sean Caron sitting on the front row. The race got off to a ballistic start with 4 cautions in the first 14 laps due to spins that left cars sitting on the track surface.

On lap 41 the cars of Matt Sonnhalter and Glen Thomas got together creating a spin involving Emerson Cayer and wrecking the 88 and 33. Cars were relined after the caution and set free to being their final 9 laps. The final laps were littered with contact sending Glen Thomas and Marc Panaroni hard into the turn 4 wall, Ian Brew spinning threw turn 2 and numerous other cars beating and banging on each other.

Toby Wells held on for the feature win, his second in a row, and 2012 Champion Danny Field finished in 2nd followed by Speedbowl regulars Bill Leonard, Charles Canfield, and Ian Brew. Wells won a free case of AMSOIL from Jett Fabrication.

Sunday morning the pit gates opened early for NEMST teams to get into Seekonk Speedway and change their cars over for the second race in as many days. RH2Way once again added to the NEMST purse by offering a $100 bonus to the driver that gained the most positions from his starting spot in the feature. The weather was once again sticky but there was a much larger breeze that helped everyone deal better with little to no sleep.

18 Cars entered the second half of the NEMST double-header. Emerson Cayer helped his 4 point lead over Danny Field by winning his heat after a long night of repairs to the 88. Louis Maher also showed his strength taking his heat win as well. 6 rows of the feature line-up would be inverted after Emerson’s draw and the field was set.

Louis Maher took shotgun starting spot on the field to try and win the RH2Way bonus and began a strong charge as the green flag flew. 2 early cautions due to single car spins slowed the pace of the feature event but then went green for the final 42 laps. Matt Sonnhalter and early mover Louis Maher experienced overheating problems mid-way through the event. Wells, Cayer, Field, and Labrecque all improved position and rolled to the front of the field in a freight train. Lap times were withing two-tenths of a second for the four car pack that began charging lapped traffic.

Wells held on once again for his third win in a row. Labrecque got a career high NEMST finish in 2nd with Cayer, Field, and Church rounding the top 5. The points battle is tight heading into the halfway point of the 2013 season Thunder Road Speedbowl with Emerson Cayer still leading by a mere 8 points over Toby Wells and Danny Field is 1 point behind him.

For more information about past or upcoming events please visit http://www.northeastministocktour.com and for photos, videos, and up to the minute info Like Us on Facebook, http://facebook.com/northeastministocktour