Wiscasset2013logoBy Lisa Maguire

Despite some early morning rain, Wiscasset Speedway was ready to roll at race time. Under the bright lights, and to the chorus of peepers in the infield, the cars hit the track in three exciting feature events and a spectator drag.
First up was the spectator drag flex race of the week. The drags ultimately saw Wayne Ambrose driving a Chevy El Camino face off again a Chevy truck driven by George Fortin. Fortin ultimately took the win in a close race.

First feature on the track were the Strictly Street racecars. No. 26 Corey Morgan took the pole position. In a straight forward race, Morgan took an early lead and dominated the track. Tasha Dyer in her No. 32 Camaro started in second, but was passed in lap one off the start by No. 5, Guy Childs. Dyer said prior to race time that her car tires were not in top form. After race time, she commented, “Yeah, been lose all practice. The guys threw everything but the kitchen sink at it!” Positions remained the same for the remainder of the 30 lap race. Morgan took first, Childs second, and Dyer in third.

In 45 lap, five caution race, the Late Model Sportsmen race proved to be exciting. Starting at the pole was Nick Hinkley in the No. 15, with Bill Pinkham in the No. 5 beside him. Right from the start in lap one, No. 4 driven by Allan Moellar, and No.28 driven by Steve Minott tangled in turn three heading to four. Moellar had to go to the pits with front end damage, and Minott went to the back.

There was a minor caution in lap 2 with the No. 5 developing power steering problems, taking him out of contention for the remainder of the race. On the restart Hinkley was still in the lead with No. 09 driven by Darren Ripley hot on his heels. The No. 00 driven by Alex Waltz and the No 27 car driven by Doug Coombs were close behind. In a close quarter’s race, the leaders battle for position.

Lap 5 saw a spin out and a caution was called. On the restart, Hinkley and Ripley raced neck and neck, till Ripley pulled ahead by a car length. As the race continued Combs moved from forth to third, and Waltz dropped back behind the race leaders. Then in lap 17, another caution was thrown. Hinkley spun and the No. 8 driven by Steve Reno, and Tyler Robbins in the No. 34 scrape on turn three. After the caution, coming round the track, Reno clipped Robbins, and after they both spun round, Reno hit the wall, taking him out for the remainder of the race.

On the restart, Ripley was race leader, with Hinkley behind him, and Coombs in third. Coming up behind was the No. 7 driven by Nick Reno. Leaders remained the same till lap 35 when the fifth caution of the race was called when Hinkley spun on the track and collected Nick Reno and Minott in the jumble. They all head to the back of the pack. When the race resumed Ripley maintained first, Coombs second, and Corey Walker in the No. 20 moved up to third. The leaders kept their positions till the end of the race. Ripley took first. After the race time Ripley said, “I would not be in victory lane tonight without my pit crew. Thanks to Travis Benjamin, Ryan Leadbetter, Dickey Ripley, and Nate.” Combs placed second, and Walker rounded out the top three.

Last on the schedule of events was the 30 lap Mini Outlaw feature. Starting in the pole position was George Fortin in the No. 9. Behind him was Shawn Kimball in the No. 20, Brent Roy in the No. 26, and the No. 7 driven by Darryl Moore. The Outlaw Mini event was also a five caution race.

The first caution of the race came in lap 13. On the restart the No. 13 driven by Nate Tribett took fourth when he pulled ahead of Moore. The second and third cautions were small, and both came in lap 15. Roy went to the pits and Tribbet to the back of the pack as a result of the cautions.

Fortin still in the lead, with Kimball and Moore behind, they battle for position on the restart. They maintain their positions. There was a forth caution in lap 21. Tribbet, who had come up from the back of the pack was hooked by the No. 17 driven by Norm Cummings. Tribbet hit the wall on the backstretch, and his car was taken out of contention and towed to the pits.

The fifth and final caution came in lap 28 when Greg Cumming and Dunn tangle on turn one after a spin out. When racing action resumes, the continuing race leaders remained the same. There was a dramatic end to the race. Kimball tapped race leader Fortin coming out of turn four. Fortin went sideways, but held it together. He maintained his position taking first. Kimball placed second, and Moore finished in third.

Wiscasset Speedway resumes racing action, June 15, 2013 with its group one lineup of divisions: Prostock, Super Stock, New England 4-cylinder Prostock, and Thunder 4. The flex race of the week will a hundred lap Enduro race for six and eight cylinder cars. This race is sponsored by Ames True Value Supply on Route 1 in Wiscasset. The race is 100 laps, one hour, or last car on the track for winner. Pit gates open at 2:00 PM. Grandstand gates open at 4:00 PM. Racing begins at 6:00 PM. Admission is $5.00 for adults and children aged seven and older. Kids six and under are free. Wiscasset Speedway is located on West Alna Road in Wiscasset.


1. #26 Corey Morgan, Lewiston

2. #5 Guy Childs, Turner

3. #32 Tasha Dyer, Arrowsic

4. #39 Gerard Freve, Turner

5. #26X Missy Morgan, Lewiston

6. #66 Phil Main Sr., Boothbay

7. #33 Mike Short, Auburn

8. #68 Phil Main Jr., Trevett

1. #09 Darren Ripley, Thomaston

2. #27 Doug Coombs, Livermore

3. #20 Corey Walker, New Vineyard

4. #3 Shane Lane, Kingfield

5. #34 Tyler Robbins, Montville

6. #00 Alex Waltz, Walpole

7. #15 Nick Hinkley, Wiscasset

8. #33 Ed Tyler, Farmington

9. #28 Steve Minott, Windham

10. #4 Allan Moellar Sr., Wiscasset

11. #7 Nick Reno, West Bath

12. #5 Billy Pinkham, Wiscasset

13. #8 Steve Reno, West Bath

1. #9 George Fortin, Greene

2. #20 Shawn Kimball, Augusta

3. #7 Darryl Moore, Oxford

4. #5 Jeff Prindall, Lisbon Falls

5. #8 Craig Dunn, Strong

6. #44 Ozzie Cummings, Vassalboro

7. #2 Greg Cummings, Augusta

8. #26 Brent Roy, Vassalboro

9. #10 Jimmy Childs, Leeds

10. #17 Norman Cummings Jr., Augusta

11. #13 Nate Tribett, Richmond