Just three weeks after graduating from Hermon High School, 17 year old Ryan Modery of Hermon found himself in Maine State Lottery Victory Lane at Speedway 95 Saturday night after winning the 40 lap Dysart’s Late Model feature. Modery, last year’s Rookie of the Year in the division, passed Corinth’s Lloyd Nickerson on lap 18 of the caution free event and held Nickerson at bay to the end. Nickerson finished in second, about 2 feet behind Modery, with 2012 division champion Andy Saunders of Ellsworth finishing third despite a broken sway bar on his car. Saunders started 10th on the grid and was in third by lap 20 and gaining on the leaders before his car broke, causing him to only be able to maintain his position. Last week’s winner, John Kalel II of Orrington finished in fourth after starting near the rear of the 16 car field. Harrington’s Andrew McLaughlin finished fifth after starting third on the grid.

Ted Ryder of Carmel made it two in a row in the Sport-Fours after winning the Coca-Cola series 35 lap feature. Ryder took the lead from pole sitter Donny Silva of Hudson on lap three and led to the end, with only one caution on lap 33 slowing the action. Edward Archer Jr. of Skowhegan finished a close second with Kevin Hartley of Hermon posting his first top three of the season with a third place finish. Jim Goodman Jr. of Orrington wound up fourth after a last lap melee on the front stretch scrambled the order. Gary Richards of Exeter was fifth.

Kris Watson of Hermon continued his winning ways in the Darling’s Ford Sportsman division when Steve Moulton of Holden had mechanical issues end his run at the front on lap 10. Kris Matchett of Skowhegan finished a close second after battling Watson for the lead over the final three laps following a late race caution. Milford’s Joe Legere finished third, followed by Bradley Smart of Bradley and D.C. Alexander of Glenburn in that order.

In the Keystone Automotive Strictly Streets, Zach Audet of Skowhegan picked up his first win of the season since moving up from the Sport-Fours three weeks ago. Audet passed leader Matt Kimball on the fourth lap of the 25 lap feature and led to the checkers. Derek Mingo of Lamoine finished second, in his first race of the year, followed by Harrington’s Alex Berry in third. Fourth went to Shelby Kimball of Cornville with Matt Kimball of Cornville in fifth.

Denis Burns of Carmel won the caution free 15 lap Bomber feature. Sam Betts of Brewer finished second after battling with Bangor’s Scott Bonney and Newport’s Mark Lane, who finished third and fourth respectively, for most of the race.

The NELCAR Legends made their second appearance of the season at Speedway 95and Ryan Hammer of Pembroke N.H. took the win in the caution free feature. His team mate Tim Laro of Concord N.H. finished in second followed by John Peters of Westbrook in third. Fourth went to Lincoln’s Alan Smith with Matt Chagnot of Derry N.H. finishing fifth. Hammer, who started last in the 11 car field inherited the win on lap 15 of the 25 lap event when Matt Bourgoine of Newport fell victim to mechanical problems while leading by a good margin.

Saturday night racing continues on July 6 at 6:00 with racing in the Dysart’s Late Models, Darling’s Ford Sportsman, Keystone Automotive Strictly Streets, Sport-Fours and Bombers, and a ride with your favorite driver opportunity at 5:30.

The Saturday show then moves to Thursday nights for the next two weeks. On Thursday July 11, it’s NAPA night with the 3rd Annual Ikey Dorr Memorial 50 lapper for Strictly Street, Outlaw and Wildcat cars, presented by Wreaths Across America and the Maine Army National Guard. The race pays $2000.00 to the winner, and the purse is enhanced by individual sponsorships for finishing positions rather than laps led. Racing starts at 7:00 p.m., with the Dysart’s Late Models, Darling’s Ford Sportsman, Sport-Fours and Bombers also scheduled to run.

On Thursday, July 18, Budweiser King of Beers and the Good News Center present Maine Army National Guard night featuring the John Phippen/Allen Fletcher Memorial race for the Dysart’s Late Models. This event will run 23 laps (Fletcher’s number) then stop, invert the field, and run an additional 59 laps (Phippen’s number). Supporting divisions will also run that night with qualifying starting at 7:00 p.m.