Wiscasset2013logoBy Lisa Maguire

Saturday night at Wiscasset Speedway the heat was on. It was perfect racing weather. The grandstands were filled with fans. The drivers were ready to race. A pair of popular drivers returned to the track and found themselves in Victory Lane for the first time in years.

First on the schedule was a 25 lap New England 4-Cylinder Pro Stocks feature. Despite two early race cautions, the No. 12, driven by Dave Patten, was able to remain race leader. Kevin Sherman in the No. 11 was able to move from fifth in starting position, to third by lap 7. Race leaders remained the same, with Dave Patten in the lead, No. 24 driven by Jeff Prindall in second, and Sherman in third until lap 20.

On lap 20, Sherman, proving to be a force on the track, pulled ahead for second on the backstretch. Then, in lap 22, Dave Patten lost it and a caution was thrown. Sherman moved to first. Bob Patten in the No. 14 Dairy Queen car moved to third. On the restart Sherman and Prindall raced hard for first, but Sherman pulled ahead. Then in lap 23, Swett spun on the track, collecting Bob Patten. Yet another caution in lap 24 when a jumble on turn two brought Bob Patten, Swett, and the No. 6 driven by Travis Dunbar to the back of the pack.

The race ended under caution with Sherman taking first. Sherman said, “It’s not about the best looking car out there, or the most money. It’s about having fun. If you’re not having fun, it ain’t worth it.”

Prindall took second, with his season’s best finish. The No. 8 driven by Craig Dunn took third.

The Super Stock class took to the racetrack in a 25 lap feature. Josh Bailey in the No. 2 started in the pole position. Car No. 48 driven by Dan Nesmith and Adam Chadbourne in the No. 1 were close behind Bailey. Early on Nesmith dropped to the back allowing Bobby Mesimer in the No. 3 to take third.

Bailey and Chadbourne battle for first. Then during lap 3 Chadbourne pulled ahead of Bailey on turn 2. Lap 6 saw Bailey move to third when Mesimer passed on the outside on turn 1 for second. Despite a late race caution, race leaders remained the same and ended with Chadbourne in first, Mesimer in second, and Bailey in third. Chadbourne failed post-race inspection after the conclusion of the race. This brought Nesmith to third place, Bailey to second, and Mesimer took his first win of the season.

In a straight forward race, the Thunder-4’s 15 lap feature sped by quickly. Mike Delaney driving the No. 10 took the pole. Behind him were Nate Martin in the No. 31. and No. 31X driven Adam Armstrong. Martin dropped to third; however, during lap 10. He went sideways on the track, causing a caution. He was sent to the back of the pack. This brought Cody Tribbett driving the No. 13 to third place. Race leaders remained the same until the conclusion of the race. Delaney took first place. Armstrong placed second. Rounding out the top three was Tribbett.

The highlighted feature of the week was a 40 lap Pro Stock race. Leading the race was No. 17 driven by Chris Thorne. Kevin Douglass in the No. 21 and Scott Chubbuck in the No. 15 were hot on his heels. Chubbuck had returned to Wiscasset Speedway after a ten year break. You would not have known Chubbuck had taken a hiatus. He looked for an opportunity to pass Douglass and found it in lap 4 when he passed on the inside on the backstretch for second.

A determined Chubbuck raced hard for first. Thorne was able to hold him off until lap 10, when after an exciting race for first, Chubbuck passed him on the outside on the backstretch. During lap 17, Thorne dropped back, and by lap 17, he had dropped to fourth place. Casey Nash in the No. 13 took third.

Lap 20 saw Thorne fighting back, and taking third place back from Nash. Chubbuck had gained a commanding lead. Thorne had Douglass in his sight. In lap 24 Thorne pulled ahead and passed Douglass on the inside of turn 4 for second. Douglass lost his momentum, and lap 29 saw Douglass drop back to forth when Nash retook third. Running order stayed the same until the end of the race.

Five time previous Wiscasset Pro Stock champ, Scott Chubbuck took first in his Ford Fusion. Chubbuck said, “It is good to be back here in Wiscasset.”

Thorne took second. Prior to race time Thorne had commented, “We have been messing with the car, trying to get it dialed in, but we are not there yet.” Nash placed third.

The flex race of the week was a 100 lap Enduro feature. Early race leaders were the No. 6 driven by Jeff Lowe, and the No. 55 driven by Kevin Sherman. Lowe nipped at Sherman’s heels until lap 75, when he was black flagged for an issue with his right front tire. This took Lowe out of contention, and Sherman sailed to the checkered flag for the win. Coming in second was Ron Whitcomb in the No. 8.

Wiscasset Speedway resumes racing action, June 22, 2013. This will be Mainely Motorsports Fan Appreciation Night. Mainely Motorsports will be filming its show at the track. Also, all drivers racing that night will be available at 5:30 pm on the track to sign autographs and meet with fans. There will be bicycle races for the kids, and plenty of giveaways. On the roster at the Speedway, with its group two lineup of divisions are: Strictly Street, Mini Trucks, Outlaw Mini, Late Model Sportsman, and the flex race of the week will be a 25 lap Amsoil Nelcar Legends feature. This is the second appearance of four scheduled this year of the Amsoil Nelcar Legends. Pit gates open at 2:00 PM. Grandstand gates open at 4:00 PM. Racing begins at 5:30 PM. Admission is $5.00 for adults and children aged seven and older. Kids six and under are free. Wiscasset Speedway is located on West Alna Road in Wiscasset.


1. #11 Kevin Sherman, Wiscasset

2. #24 Jeff Prindall, Lisbon Falls

3. #8 Craig Dunn, NA

4. #12 David Patten, Windham

5. #54 Mike Swett, Farmingdale

1. #3 Bobby Mesimer, Woolwich

2. #2 Josh Bailey, Wiscasset

3. #48 Dan Nessmith, Wiscasset

4. #05 James Osmond, Wiscasset

5. #1 Adam Chadbourne, Woolwich (DQ)

1. #10 Mike Delaney, Richmond

2. #31X Adam Armstrong, NA

3. #13 Cody Tribbett, Richmond

4. #25 Ed Smith, Auburn

5. #31 Nate Tibbet, Richmond

1. #15 Scott Chubbuck, Bowdoin

2. #17 Chris Thorne, Sidney

3. #13 Casey Nash, Richmond

4. #21 Kevin Douglass, Sidney

5. #39 John Rideout, Washington

1. #55 Kevin Sherman, Wiscasset

2. #8 Ron Whitcomb, NA

3. #11 NA

4. #777 Mike St. Germain, NA

5. #6 Jeff Lowe, NA