Scarborough, ME – Saturday’s NASCAR Nite Pro Series 40-lap feature event was won by Newcastle’s Charlie Colby. With the win, Colby becomes the Pro Series’ second repeat winner in the 2013 season.

At the drop of the green, Durham’s Evan Beaulieu lead the 20-car field to the green flag, but surrendered the lead to Mike Maietta, Jr., of South Portland, the following lap. Maietta led until lap five when Colby was able to gain momentum going into the corner and pass Maietta for the lead.

Colby led until lap eleven when a caution bunched the field back together. On the restart, Colby chose the outside lane choice and it proved successful as he was able to maintain the lead over Maietta.

At the halfway mark, 18-year old Tyler King, of Livermore and veteran Steve Carrier, of Saco were able to safely maneuver their way inside the top-five after starting mid-pack in the field. It was not enough to catch Colby, as he maintained his lead throughout the race to claim his second victory of the 2013 season.

Current points leader Mike Rowe, of Turner had a dismal end to the night as he was unable to place a top-ten finish after starting in his 17th starting spot. Gorham’s Dan McKeage – 2009 champion – capitalized by driving to a solid top-ten finish and edging into the point lead.

Colby joins Rowe as the only repeat winners in the NASCAR Pro Series division.

Top Five Feature Finishes

Pro Series

1. Charlie Colby, Newcastle
2. Tyler King, Livermore
3. Don Colpritt, Scarborough
4. Mike Maietta Jr, South Portland
5. Steve Carrier, Saco

Sport Series

1. Garrett Hall, Scarborough
2. Ben Tinker, New Gloucester
3. Phil Pinkham, Buxton
4. Brandon Ingalls, Windham
5. Frank Wear, Buxton


1. Ed Connolly, Scarborough
2. Jon Brill, Bridgton
3. Dan Bernier Sr, Wells
4. Dan Wink, So. Berwick
5. David Vaughn, Naples

Road Runners

1. David Turner, Buxton
2. Shawn Brackett, Scarborough
3. Clayton Loubier, III, Gorham
4. Travis Burrows, Brownfield
5. Taylor Lampron-Pierce, Standish