Speedway 95Ellsworth’s Andy Saunders took advantage of another driver’s misfortune Saturday night at Speedway 95 and won the 40 lap Dysart’s Late Model feature as well as putting an exclamation point on his second consecutive division championship. Deane Smart of Bradley beat Saunders to the front at the drop of the green flag, and led the first 28 laps of the event. On lap 29, Lloyd Nickerson of Corinth spun in turn four while the leaders were rounding turn three and was sitting in the middle of the track when Smart got there. Smart struck Nickerson head on, lifted into the air and landed on the car of Paul White who was running right behind Smart. Saunders, who was running third at the time, dove to the inside and avoided any contact with the wreck. Smart, White and Nickerson were all eliminated from the race, while Saunders forged ahead of Wayne Parritt Jr. on the restart and led the remaining twelve laps to post his sixth win of the season. Parritt ran a strong race, finishing a close second to Saunders with Hermon’s Mike Hopkins finishing third, right on Parritt’s bumper. Fourth went to rookie Andrew McLaughlin of Harrington with Winterport’s Ryan Deane taking the fifth spot. Saunders claimed his second consecutive championship in the division, a feat which he also accomplished in the 2003 and 2004 seasons.

In the Darling’s Ford Sportsman division, the points leader and 2013 division champion Kris Watson of Hermon won the caution free feature event, leading from the pole to the checkers. Kris Matchett of Skowhegan finished the 25 lap feature in the second spot, followed by Bradley Smart of Bradley in third. Milford’s Joe Legere wrapped the season up with a fourth place finish, followed by Corinth’s Jim Bragdon in fifth.

History was made in the Keystone Automotive Strictly Streets when Shelby Kimball of Cornville won the division’s points championship, the first lady driver to do so in the division. Alex Berry of Harrington won the caution free 25 lap feature, with Kimball finishing second. Glenburn’s Jordan Pearson finished the race in third, followed by Greg Pung of Franklin in fourth and Shelby’s younger brother, Matt Kimball of Cornville in fifth. Matt Kimball finished the season’s points race in second, the first time a brother/sister combination had both topped the points standings in a division at the speedway.

Donny Silva of Hudson took the lead on lap 16 of the caution-free Sport-Four feature and went on the win the 25 lap race over Ted Ryder of Carmel, who finished second. Ryder’s second place finish gave him the division point’s title for the second year in a row. Third went to Darren Durrell of Newburgh with Bradley Dolan finishing fourth. Pole sitter Andrew Crosby of Hermon finished fifth.

Drivers from the Wednesday night Stars of Tomorrow division dominated the action in the caution free 20 lap Bomber division feature with 13 year old Dustan Durrell of Newburgh passing 13 year old Alex Runci of Frankfort in the closing laps to win his first Bomber race of the season. Runci, also a driver in the Stars of Tomorrow division this season finished second, with Bomber regular Mark Lane of Newport finishing third. Fourth went to the 14 year old 2013 Stars of Tomorrow division champion, William McCullough of Kenduskeag, with Denis Burns of Carmel, finishing fifth. With that fifth place finish, Burns picked up the 2013 points championship in the division.

Also on the track Saturday night were the drivers from the Wicked Good Vintage Racing League. Mark Thurlow of Lincolnville drove his 1960 Chevrolet Impala to victory, passing Winthrop’s Scott Tucker, in a 1964 Ford Fairlane for the win. Tucker finished second, followed by Keith Smalley of Warren in a ’55 Chevy in third. Bobby Symonds of Casco finished fourth in a ’57 Chevy and Caleb Willette of Winslow finished fifth in his 1963 Ford Galaxie.

Speedway 95 ends its 2013racing season on October 4, 5, and 6 with a three day program of practice and racing. Friday October 4 will be a practice day from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. with all divisions open for practice. On Saturday, the program begins at 4:00 p.m. with the Pick- up trucks racing qualifying races and a 20 lap feature, the Stars of Tomorrow racing a qualifier and 15 lap feature, the Enduro/Bombers will do qualifying and a 50 lap feature and the Sport-Fours will qualify and be racing in the 50 lap “quit your Complaining feature that pays $1000.00 to the winner. Grandstand admission on Saturday will be cut in half for fans who bring an unwrapped toy to be donated to the Toys for Tots program.

On Sunday, October 6, the Darling’s Ford Sportsman will do a 50 lap feature, the Keystone Automotive Strictly Street, Outlaw and Wildcat cars will do 75 laps and the Dysart’s Late Models will race 95 laps in the Judy’s Restaurant/Cap’s Tavern sponsored season finale. Qualifying races will precede the feature action in the program that will begin at 2:00 on Sunday afternoon.

The track welcomes any fans to stay on the premises when they come with a self- contained camper, travel trailer or Recreational Vehicle. Tailgating will also be welcomed on race day for any who wish to participate.