by Ken Minott.

It was a clear cool evening at Maine’s fastest track and the fans packed in for a full program sponsored by Napa Auto Parts. Group one division were on the schedule with action in N.E. 4-Cyl Prostocks, Thunder 4 Minis, Prostocks, Super Stocks and the Flex race of the week was the North East Pro 4 Tour. While several drivers came close to their pursuit of their first win, it was in fact the top winners that stepped up to claim their place in victory lane. The N.E. 4-Cyl Prostocks rolled out the first feature with #8 Craig Dunn ginning for his 3rd straight feature win. He was flanked by #24 Jeff Prindall and #14 Bob Patten. Dunn took advantage of his rare front row starting position and quickly established a three car length advantage over Prindall. While the lead pair pulled away, positions would shuffle back in the field as Bob Patten slipped to the back. Craig Dunn held a comfortable cushion for the duration of the 25 laps caution free feature, driving on to his 3rd straight win. Prindall kept the leader within sight, but never was able to mount a challenge. He would settle for his track high 5th runner up finish of the season. Dave Patton raced his #12 machine up from his 6th starting position to claim the final spot in victory lane. The 15 lap Thunder 4 feature had plenty of passing. Wiscasset’s Kevin Sherman jumped up from his 4th starting position and grabbed the lead from Leandre Martin on the second lap of the race. From there he withstood a lap 4 restart and held off challenges from Cody Tribbet and Ryan Chadwick. For Sherman, it was his 3rd feature win of the season, matching Jamie Heath for the most wins in the class. Tribbet stayed in Sherman’s tire tracks for most of the race, but would settle for the runner up finish. Chadwick had the most eventful drive to victory lane. He started on the second row, but quickly dropped back in the pack with shifter problems. He took advantage of the race’s only caution on lap 4 and raced his way back up to challenge Tribbet on the final lap. He would end up with a third place finish. The 30 lap Prostock race was a straight forward caution free race. Oxford’s Bill Penfold started at the pole position and withstood a strong challenge from Wiscasset’s Mike Orr over the first half of the race. He would go on to claim his 3rd straight feature win and 4th of the season overall. Orr tried the outside lane on the race leader but was overmatched in each challenge. He would bring his #3 Jordan Lumber sponsored machine home with a season best 2nd place finish. Steve Reny of Boothbay returned to his home track for the first time in several years and turned in a respectable 3rd place finish. The Northeast Pro 4 Tour rolled onto the track next for it’s only Maine appearance and a 30 lap feature. Former Wiscasset Ministock champ Bryan Lancaster turned in a dominant performance on the way to the feature win. The race would actually be shortened by 10 laps after an early wreck in turn 3 that collected a third of the field. Lancaster’s victory made him the tour’s only repeat winner. Desmond Skillings of Antrim, NH and Nick Skillings of Warner, NH claimed the remaining spots in Victory lane. The Super Stock division rolled out the final race of the evening with a 25 lap spotlight feature. Teammates Josh Bailey and James Osmond started side by side on the front row. The two waged a great side by side battle over the first 5 laps, but Osmond finally took the lead for himself by lap 7. A half straightway behind was another great battle between teammates Bobby Mesimer and Adam Chadbourne. The only caution of the race came out on lap 20 for a spin between Dan Nesmith and Bob Seger Jr. On the ensuing restart Bailey was able to lead a lap on the outside, but it was short lived. Osmond reestablished his lead just a lap later. From there he would cruise to his 5th feature win of 2013 in his Napa sponsored #05. Bailey turned in one of his best runs with his runner up finish. Mesimer won the battle with Chadbourne to claim the 3rd place trophy.

Wiscasset Speedway returns to action Saturday September 21st with it’s Group 2 divisions. Late Models, Outlaw Mini’s and Trucks will all have regular action. The show’s spotlight is the first ever Top Gun Strictly Shootout. The 40 lap Strictly feature will showcase many of the top Strictly / Wildcat drivers in the region. The Flex division race is a 15 lap Flagpole feature. Admission is just $5 for adults and children 7& older. Kids 6&under are free. Wiscasset Speedway is on the West Alna Road in Wiscasset. For more information, check the



1. #8 Craig Dunn – Strong
2. #24 Jeff Prindall – Lisbon
3. #12 Dave Patten – Windham
4. #54 Kamren Knowles – Farmingdale
5. #38 Ryan Hayes – Jefferson
6. #14 Bob Patten – Windham


1. #11 Kevin Sherman – Wiscasset
2. #13 Cody Tribbet – Richmond
3. #5 Ryan Chadwick – Wiscasset
4. #20 Dan Trask – Chelsea
5. #31 Leandre Martin – Richmond
6. #04 Curtis Anderson – Richmond
7. #0 Nate Tribbet – Richmond
8. #8 Alex Runci – Frankfort
9. #1 Jeff Davis – Woolwich
10. #42 Kyia Roussel – n/a


1. #0 Bill Penfold – Oxford
2. #3 Mike Orr – Wiscasset
3. #77 Steve Reny – Boothbay
4. #02 Shane Lane – Kingfield
5. #99 Dylan Turner – Freedom


1. #81 Bryan Lancaster – Skowhegan
2. #90 Desmond Skillings – Antrim, NH
3. #25 Nick Skillings – Warner, NH
4. #1 Ken McIlvain – Epping, NH
5. #7 Darrell Moore – Oxford
6. #10 Jimmy Childs – Leeds
7. #14 Matt Moore – Mechanic Falls
DQ Joe Allard – Levant


1. #05 James Osmond – Wiscasset
2. #2 Josh Bailey – Wiscasset
3. #3 Bobby Mesimer – Woolwich
4. #48 Dan Nesmith – Wiscasset
5. #1 Adam Chadbourne – Woolwich
6. #71 Joe Creamer – Woolwich
7. #47 Zac Creamer – Woolwich
8. #18 Bob Seger Jr – Frankfort