Speedway 95 closed out the 2013 racing season with a “Christmas in October” week-end that featured extended length racing on Saturday and Sunday to benefit the Toys for Tots program.

On Saturday, Donny Silva of Hudson led the 50 lap “Quit Your Complaining” Sport-Four feature from the pole to the checkers, besting a field of 28 cars competing for the $1000 winner’s check. The quality of the field was seen when the race went from the drop of the green to lap 41 before the yellow flag slowed the action for a single car spin. On the restart, Calvin Rose Jr. of Turner, who was running second when the yellow flew, was able to edge slightly ahead of Silva on the backstretch, but when the two crossed the scoring line, Silva was again in the lead and held it to the end. Rose finished in second, with Jayson Bosworth of Cornville placing third. Fourth at the finish was Zach Audet of Skowhegan, who claimed the position after a spirited battle with Justin Larson of Peru, who finished fifth. Rounding out the top ten were: 6. Brad Bosworth, Cornville, 7. Tim Collins, Farmingdale, 8. Steve Heath, Milo, 9. Jimmie Childs, and 10. Jeremy Scott, Carmel. Qualifier winners were, Donny Silva, Justin Larson and Jayson Bosworth

In the Enduro/Bomber 50 lap feature, Brewer’s Sam Betts passed race long leader Jason Trundy of Winterport in the closing laps to take the win. Trundy finished second with Brownville’s Roy Hathorn claiming third. Pole-sitter Alvin MacNevin of Clifton finished in the fourth spot with Bangor’s Scott Bonney placing fifth. Alvin MacNevin and Jayson Trundy won the heats.

Jim Carr Jr. of Clifton posted his 8th win of the season, with Jeff Overlock Jr. of Hermon second. Phil Haynes of Greenfield finished third in his first attempt at racing a truck, and Jason Haskell of Levant finished fourth. Carr also won the 10 lap qualifier.

Trey Brown of Winterport returned to Victory lane in the Stars of tomorrow, holding off Old Town’s Dylan Street, who finished in second. Third went to Zach Horlieca of Hudson with Nicholas Cots of Greenfield and Alex Runci of Frankfort rounding out the top five. Dustan Durrell of Newburgh won the qualifier.

Capping the night’s activities was the B&S Scrap and Recycling sponsored Demolition Derby, in which 20 cars competed for the $700 winner’s purse. Ken Ogden of Seal Harbor, driving a Lincoln Town Car, survived the crash fest the longest, being the last car running and was declared the winner. Charlie Cummings of Dixmont finished second with Jane Henderson of Troy finishing third. Heat winners were Jane Henderson, Ken Ogden and Nathan Chandronait.

John Kalel II of Orrington took the lead from Phil Richardson of Hermon on the 18th lap of the 95 lap season ender at Speedway 95 Sunday afternoon and led until the race’s only caution flew on lap 78. Andrew McLaughlin of Harrington took the lead briefly on the restart, but two laps later Kalel was back in command and led to the checkers. McLaughlin finished a strong second with Hermon’s Scott Modery coming in third, right on McLaughlin’s bumper. Rowland Robinson Jr. of Steuben finished fourth with Milo’s Nick Jenkins in fifth. Rounding out the top 10 in the 16 car field were 6. Wayne Parritt Jr., Steuben, 7. John Curtis Jr., Hermon, 8. Phil Richardson, Hermon, 9. Dean Smart, Bradley, 10. Alex Waltz, Damariscotta.

Sally Gherardi of Standish took the lead from Skowhegan’s Kris Matchett on a lap 42 restart in the Darling’s Ford Sportsman 50 lap feature and went on to post the win in her first visit to the speedway. Matchett had led from the 12th lap when he passed 2013 points champion Kris Watson of Hermon, who eventually fell out of the race with mechanical problems. Matchett finished the race in second with Andy Field of Buxton finishing third in a fender rubbing match with fourth place finisher Joe Pastore as they crossed the finish line. Milford’s Joe Legers finished fifth.

Jordan Pearson of Glenburn won the 50 lap Keystone Automotive Strictly Street feature, holding off Harrington’s Alex Berry for the win following a lap 29 restart. Berry finished second, followed by Greg Pung of Franklin. Dixmont’s Dave Gray finished fourth with Bryan Robbins of Montville in fifth.