IMG_3884RUTLAND, VT – Devil’s Bowl Speedway will toast top local stock car drivers from the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series at its annual Banquet of Champions on Saturday, February 1, 2014. Among the competitors to be honored on stage are Rookie of the Year winners from each of the track’s four weekly racing classes. The Banquet of Champions will be at the Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington in Rutland, VT.

Twenty year-old Jamie LaFountain of Keeseville, NY will collect Rookie of the Year honors for his efforts in the headline Bond Auto Parts Modified division. LaFountain built a consistent record in his first year of racing at Devil’s Bowl, finishing in the Top 10 in nine of his 17 feature starts and taking 12th in the overall championship standings. He outdistanced Bruce Schwab and Emily Quinn for the freshman crown.

Bristol, VT driver Josh Masterson posted three Late Model victories on his way to the division’s Rookie of the Year crown. Feature winner Brandon Atkins finished a close second followed by Johnny Scarborough, Seth Bridge, Carol Parker, and Tommy Eriksen, Jr.

Four first-year racers were bunched tightly together in the intermediate Renegade class, with 20 year-old Brad Bushey of Fairfax, VT taking the Rookie of the Year title. Bushey won twice to beat teenagers Stephen Donahue, Ray Germain, Jr., and Richard Lowrey, III. Two-time winner Chuck Bradford of Addison, VT ran to the Rookie of the Year crown in the Central Vermont Motorcycles Mini Stock class. Lacey Hanson, Lance Masterson, Kyle Sorensen, Jason Sabourin, and Scott FitzGerald were next in line.

Separately, Middlebury, VT’s Todd Stone will be honored as the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series National Rookie of the Year presented by Jostens at a ceremony in Charlotte, NC on Friday, December 13. Though he was not eligible for the weekly Devil’s Bowl rookie program, Stone’s 10-win Modified championship season and his status as a first-year NASCAR license holder allowed him to claim the national honor, beating drivers from more than 50 sanctioned tracks.

The champions, top rookies, and other drivers will be recognized at the Devil’s Bowl Speedway Banquet of Champions on Saturday, February 1, 2014 at the Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington in Rutland, VT.