First Super Late Model win for Scott McDaniel at Oxford Plains Speedway

Oxford, Maine – Scott McDaniel of Livermore scored a career-first Super Late Model victory Saturday night, topping the Budweiser Championship Series stock car racing card at Oxford Plains Speedway.

McDaniel chased rookie Super Late Model competitor Ivan Kaffel of Raymond for more than half of the 50-lap race before driving around the 16-year-old to take command for good in a race that went caution-free.

Kaffel claimed a career-best runner-up finish, with Winterport’s Ryan Deane posting a season-best, third-place performance. Sophomore Super Late Model competitor Calvin Rose, Jr. was fourth under the checkered flag, the former Street Stock champ’s most impressive run in the top class thus far.

Six-time Pro All Stars Series Super Late Model champion Johnny Clark of Farmingdale filled out the top-five rundown. Buckfield’s TJ Brackett helped to tighten up the championship fight with a sixth-place run. JT Thurlow, pre-race points leader Gabe Brown, Scott Moore and the previous week’s winner, Austin Teras, rounded out the top ten.

Tyler King of Gray raced to his third victory of the season in the 30-lap main event for the Allen’s Coffee Flavored Brandy Street Stock division. King, who started from 11th position, took the lead away from Patrick Thorne of Standish, then warded off challenges from the current leader in the championship standings, Matt Dufault of Turner.

King and Dufault, who lined up dead last on the starting grid, were chased under the checkered flag by Lisbon’s Rick Spaulding. Jordan Russell of Norway was fourth across the finish line, followed by Zach Bowie of Turner, who had a two-race win streak snapped.

Rob Crepeau of Minot nailed down his first win of the year in Bandits division competition. Crepeau made a three-wide move into the race lead, then held off current championship points leader Dustin Salley of Poland for the balance of the wildly-entertaining 20-lapper. Chris Foster led the race early on and posted an impressive third-place finish. Josh Knoll of Wells and Waterford’s Jamie Heath rounded out the top five.

Dale Lawrence of Lisbon held off championship points leader Kyle Kilgore of South Paris to post his second victory of the year in the 20-lap Figure 8 race. Maine racing Hall of Famer Jon Lizotte of Lewiston finished up in third position, followed by Greg Durgin of South Paris and Poland’s Larry Lizotte.

Auburn’s Thomas Brackett won his fifth Rookie division race, outrunning Waterford’s Brady Heath to the checkered flag.

The Budweiser Championship Series at Oxford Plains Speedway resumes this Saturday night, June 16, with the Wicked Good Vintage Racing Association’s Hobby class joining all five weekly divisions, including the Super Late Models. Post time is 7:00 p.m. For more information please visit or call (207) 539-8865.

Budweiser Super Late Model (50 laps) 1 14 Scott McDaniel, Livermore; 2 78 Ivan Kaffel, Raymond; 3 54 Ryan Deane, Winterport; 4 8 Calvin Rose, Jr., Turner; 5 54 Johnny Clark, Farmingdale; 6 61 TJ Brackett, Buckfield; 7 9 JT Thurlow, Windham; 8 47 Gabe Brown, Center Conway, NH; 9 03 Scott Moore, Anson; 10 29 Austin Teras, Gray; 11 36 Ryan Robbins, Dixfield; 12 09 Jeremy Davis, Tamworth, NH; 13 01 Andy Saunders, Ellsworth; 14 57 Travis Stearns, Auburn; 15 12 Derek Griffith, Hudson, NH; 16 60 Tim Brackett, Buckfield; 17 25 Shawn Knight, South Paris; 18 4 Bobby Babb, Windham; 19 41 Tracy Gordon, Strong; 20 9 Alan Tardiff, Lyman; 21 77 Bryce Mains, Bridgton; DNS 46 Dennis Spencer, Jr., Oxford.

Allen’s Coffee Flavored Brandy Street Stock (50 laps) 1 11 Tyler King, Gray; 2 61 Matt Dufault, Turner; 3 36 Rick Spaulding, Lisbon; 4 4 Jordan Russell, Norway; 5 21 Zach Bowie, Turner; 6 62 Nick Stanley, Oxford; 7 33 Andrew Breton, Greene; 8 34 David Vaughn, Naples; 9 27 Patrick Thorne, Standish; 10 99 George Haskell, Casco; 11 12 John White III, Auburn; 12 09 Mark Turner, Norway; 13 56 Addie McDaniel, Bridgton; 14 85 Kenny Harrison, Durham.

Bandits (20 laps) 1 77 Rob Crepeau, Minot; 2 18 Dustin Salley, Poland; 3 71 Chris Foster, Lisbon; 4 8 Josh Knoll, Wells; 5 91 Jamie Heath, Waterford; 6 1 Brandon Barney, Mechanic Falls; 7 2 Shaun Hinkley, Oxford; 8 08 Mike McKinney, Berlin, NH; 9 4 Tyler Libby, Auburn; 10 44 Jeff Libby, Auburn; 11 6 Cody White, South Paris; 12 14 Brandon Caston, Casco; 13 148 Cody Smith, Connecticut; 14 55 Dean Jordan, Jay; 15 12 Adam Sanborn, West Paris; 16 1x Kevin Varney, Mechanic Falls; 17 24 Travis Verrill, South Paris; 18 52 Chad Wills, Buckfield.

Figure 8 (20 laps) 1 2 Dale Lawrence, Lisbon; 2 4 Kyle Kilgore, South Paris; 3 1 Jon Lizotte, Lewiston; 4 41 Greg Durgin, South Paris; 5 00 Larry Lizotte, Poland; 6 40 Robert Morey, Lisbon; 7 07 Kyle Glover, Oxford.

Rookie (15 laps) 1 3 Thomas Brackett, Auburn; 2 91 Brady Heath, Waterford.