Anthony Nocella wins Thunder in the Mountains 100

After 100 laps of ground-pounder action, it was Anthony Nocella taking down the win in the Thunder in the Mountains 100 at White Mountain Motorsports Park, along with the $3,500 going to the victor in the inaugural Bullring Bash Quarter Mile Challenge presented by RaceChoice.

Nocella, who started on the pole, got around Woody Pitkat with 32 laps to go and didn’t look back.

“I think it was an awesome race,” Nocella said. “I’m glad we decided to come here… Everybody I talked to said [White Mountain] is an awesome place. I can’t thank Josh [Vanada] enough for putting this race on and the people at White Mountain for letting us run here.”

Behind Nocella was Mike Willis in second. Andy Jankowiak was third, followed by Richard Savary and Kirk Alexander.

On the very first lap, outside polesitter Christopher Bolton spun in turn three, collecting Russ Hersey, George Sherman, and Matt Swanson, bringing out a quick yellow flag.

On the first restart, Geoff Rollins spun into the tire barrier in turn three to bring out another yellow flag.

Once the race finally went green, Woody Pitkat began stalking Nocella. He was unable to get by him until lap 17 when he wriggled underneath Nocella to take the lead.

Pitkat pulled away over the course of the run, which was slowed on lap 45 when Hersey spun off of turn two.

Pitkat stumbled on the ensuing restart, and Mike Willis moved to the lead, taking Nocella to second with him. After pressuring him for several laps, Nocella moved back to the lead on lap 69, just two laps before Andy Jankowiak spun to bring out another caution.

Another issue for Pitkat on another restart sent him to the back of the pack. Willis remained all over Nocella down the stretch, but was unable to make a move, and Nocella hung on to take the win.

The full results can be found below:

1. Anthony Nocella

2. Mike Willis

3. Andy Jankowiak

4. Richard Savary

5. Kirk Alexander

6. Woody Pitkat

7. Chris Bolton

8. Geoff Rollins

9. George Sherman

10. Russ Hersey

11. Matt Swanson