GSM2On Friday night. June 14, the Granite State Pro Stock Series will make history at the historic Devil’s Bowl Speedway, when they invade Vermont’s Fastest ½ mile speedway. For the first time since the historic ½ speedway was repaved, the Pro Stocks will take center stage in the First Annual Carmody Ford “Slate Valley 100”.

Returning to GSPSS action will be Rutland’s Chris Wilk, who was the Granite State Pro Stocks first ever winner in August of 2011 at the Twin State Speedway. Chris will lead the Green Mountain State entrants, which include defending Milk Bowl Champion Dave Pembroke, who hails from Middlesex, and Josh King of Vernon. This event is slated to include entrants from all 6 New England states.

The Slate Valley 100 is the fourth event on the schedule for the Granite State Pro Stocks, and have seen a different winner in each of the events. Matt Frahm is the most recent winner, picking up the David’s House 106 at Monadnock Speedway. With that victory, he became the first repeat winner in GSPSS’s short history. George Bessette was the winner at Thompson Speedway in the season opener, with Jeremy Davis taking down his first win at the Canaan 100.

Mike O’Sullivan of Springfield, MA leads the championship standings coming into this event, with a four point advantage over Jeremy Davis of Tamworth, NH. Larry Gelinas of Buxton, ME, Jake Vanada of Berkley MA, and Matt Frahm out of N. Salem NH round out the top five.

Pembroke and Mike Parks were on hand a couple of weeks ago to get a feel for the high speed oval, and were impressed on how well the cars handled on the compound banking. Pembroke has experience with the Late Models there, and will try to use his knowledge to become the tenth different winner for the Granite State Pro Stock Series.

For more information, you can check out our website at, or find us on Facebook under Granite State Pro Stock Series. You can also find out information on Devils Bowl Speedway at